Retro Throwback: Rantings

On the weekends, please enjoy the Retro Throwback where I share my favorite posts from some time ago. Rantings was originally published in November 2012.

I have realized that there are three things that really get my goat in class. I try not to let them bother me when they come up, but they drive me nuts!

First (and these are in no order as they all drive me equally batty) are the people who have to have their spot. You know who you are or you know who they are.  These people set up in the exact same place every time. They will set up on top of you if you have your mat in their spot (I exaggerate only slightly). About a month ago I had set up next to a yoga buddy in an area I don’t tend to frequent. Someone came in and set up directly in front of me in order to get “the spot.” There was no reason for this. There were other places to set the mat up. The room was not packed. If I wanted to see myself I had to be the one to move. The individual couldn’t even be bothered to move slightly right or left.

I was astounded. I looked at my buddy who replied that this person always does this. I suggested that we start putting out mats up there all the time to send a message, but that’s not really sending a message so much as it is starting some sort of childish mat war. I will admit I kinda want to start a mat war just to be annoying.

Second are the people who plunk their mats right down in front of you forcing you to move. This is not always about having a favorite spot so much as it’s about the person has just decided that’s where she/he wants to set up, and I happen to be in the way so to speak. I move over slightly so I can see myself in the mirror, but I have a line. If you come in and plunk down right in front of me – and there are plenty of other options for you – and you force me into the mirror crack I will not move. I will ask you to move. I haven’t had to do this yet. I just discovered my line the other day when I came dangerously close to having to move into the mirror crack. I suppose I could just move to a different side of the room, but why? I’m tired of people not paying attention, or being selfish, or whatever it is that’s going on here. So if you force me into the mirror crack expect a response from me.

All of this stuff about where we place our mats goes out the window when the room is really, really crowded which does not happen that much. I’ll work with you when the room is super crowded. I get that your options reach almost nothing at some point. But when you have options? Don’t be throwing your mess down in such a way that it blocks others from seeing themselves in the mirror. Pay attention to your space.

Finally, I have a water bottle pet peeve. I think this is again an awareness issue. When the room is not crowded, pay attention to where you place your water bottle. It is not helpful to be in cobra and have your gigantic bottle blocking my view of myself in the mirror. Move the bottle out of the way so it doesn’t block my view (or anyone’s) during the floor series. On most days this is a reasonable request. I can tell when it’s not possible to obtain this, and I’ll be happy to deal with it.

Now I feel a bit better. What are your rantings? What drives you bonkers during class? Come on – I know you got’em.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 24, 2014 @ 23:18:15

    Retro Throwback: Rantings http://t.co/U4dCH3iDYD #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

