Retro Throwback: The Major Mistake of Day 35

On the weekends, please enjoy the Retro Throwback where I share my favorite posts from some time ago. The Major Mistake of Day 35 was originally published in January 2013.

In retrospect, eating a giant burrito before class was not a good idea. At all. So there. I am saving you the trouble of figuring this out for yourself. Today’s class (#35 in my streak) was a hot and potentially barfy one. It started around 11:30 today when I stumbled into downtown Chapel Hill to find some food. I wandered into the Cosmic Cantina. I’d eaten here once since becoming a vegetarian, and they have decent vegetarian options.

Last time I was there, I orded a mini-vegetarian burrito. It was a little too small, and I spent most of the day hungry. This time I bumped it up to a regular size. I also ordered 2 ounces of cheese dip to dip it in (because I’m fun like that).

The burrito was about the size of my head. Seriously, that thing was huge. And the cheese dip? I know what 2 ounces looks like. This was not 2 ounces. The cheese dip came in 2 and 6 ounces. Someone threw me a 6 ounce. Oh, I did not complain about extra cheese.

I decided that the smart thing to do was eat half the burrito. I thought I should just cut it in half and then wrap the rest up and put it away. That would have been the logical, good choice to make. But no. That was not the choice I made. The burrito was delicious. I ate 3/4th of it. I also ate all the chips they gave me and the entire canister of cheese dip.

Oh my God was I full.

But I figured I had almost five hours to digest it before class, right? What could go wrong here? Nothing, right?

Ha ha. Lesson learned.

So I got to class and set up on the hot side of the room. It was hot in there today too, but that is not a complaint. However, I did feel all that burrito and cheesy goodness sitting in my stomach. It was like dragging a large boulder around with me. It was horrible.

Then we got to savassanah. I drank some water, and it happened. This is the gross part so if you want to stop reading, you can. I offer it up as just one more part of my Bikram Yoga Life. Gotta share the pretty stuff and the gross stuff. That’s how I see it.

Here we go.

I had to burp. No big deal. I kept my mouth closed (I am polite), and burped. Oh wait, that’s not exactly a burp. My lunch is coming up.

This was not a situation where I had time to flee the room. I would have been well within my rights to flee the room under the involuntary ejection clause. The involuntary ejection clause had just gone into full swing on my mat, but I was not right by the door. Lunch was coming back up right then. I had two choices. Oh, this is so gross. I could throw up on my mat OR I could push it back down. I was terrifed to let it all fly out right there on my mat. I also didn’t want to make everyone in the room, and espicially the people around me, have to see it, smell it, and so on. So I went with the second choice and swallowed it. I will not describe to you what that was like. I’ve said enough.

These are the kinds of decisions I find myself facing when eating gigantic burritos and 6 ounces of cheese dip before taking class.

So, two points to make:

(a) for those of you who took class with me at today at the 4:30, now you know why I propped myself up against the wall in the hallway after class and spaced out

(b) for everyone, don’t eat a giant burrito and a lot of cheese dip before you take class no matter how much time you think you have to digest it. It will not pan out.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Aug 20, 2014 @ 07:52:24

    Retro Throwback: The… http://t.co/N0EqJEJf8h #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 23, 2015 @ 22:22:56

    Retro Throwback: The… http://t.co/hbXloR7k2g #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

