Posture Attachments

A few days ago, I took a class from someone for the first time. She wasn’t a new instructor – just new to me. Anyways, during the class she said something that has resonated with me for days. She talked about having attachments to postures.

Her advice was to not have attachements to postures. For example, if you asked me what posture I like the most I would say standing head to knee. Yes, I am serious. Standing head to knee really is my all time favorite posture. That has been the case since day one. I have always wanted to get my head on my knee (took me about three years and was totally worth it). Ask me what I hate the most? Triangle of course. And then there are other postures that move in and out of this love/hate cycle with me. Postures that I form love/hate attachements to can last for as short as a single class (Oh! I really loved Eagle today) to one or more weeks (Gack. My Standing Bow has gone completely to pot).

What I took away from the instructor’s statement was the importance of really letting go of these attachments and simply taking the class. If you’ve been reading my blog for awhile, you know that one of topics I am always coming back to is the importance of taking the class and being in the moment of the class. Yet in doing so it never occured to me to consider attachments to postures and how they might effect my practice – be it long-term or short-term attachments.

So yes, another thing to think about and work on in class. It’s a long standing habit for me to have to break, and I think I have some of these attachments on auto-pilot. But it will be interesting to see how trying to engage with the practice without them might change what I experience.

Do you have attachements to postures? What do you think about letting go of them?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jack joseph's mom
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 06:41:27

    I have attachments to Rabbit. I just don’t like it. I don’t think I am doing it right, it hurts, my head is never near my knees… I think too much about all of that while I am doing it and it makes it even more miserable!

    I would love to let go of all of that… Which is why I keep doing that posture. I also try not to think about it.

    Another attachment I have is for positions I know I do well, like awkward and triangle. If I am struggling with them for whatever reason that day, I get really disappointed in myself, instead of just accepting it’s an off day!

    This was really good advice given. I love when I hear something new that resonates with me!

    Reply

  2. teenieyogini
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 12:25:48

    I think my practice benefits from short term attachments, both positive and negative. If say, I generally have no strong feelings towards eagle, and one day I walk into class and just LOVE it, that motivates me to work harder to improve in a posture that rarely gets much extra attention. At the same time, if I walk in and LOATHE eagle, that is kind of a cue to me that something is up, either physically or mentally and I need to asses- ok. This really sucks right now. Am I about to have a breakthrough, or a breakdown? Should I be pushing harder or backing off?

    I actively work to let go of long term attachments though. As a kid, I threw up once in balancing stick, and created a massive hang up for myself. I refused to even try balancing stick for years after that. That attachment is not benefiting me or my practice. Now, no matter what my mind is yammering about, I never ever skip balancing stick. One of these days I’ll convince myself that it’s not so bad.

    Reply

  3. Rebecca
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 16:14:51

    I have a deep attachment to triangle, because it takes me until that poin to feel energetic! I LOVE triangle, but I need to let go of wanting to get everything before it over with.

    I have had an attachment to hating standing head to knee for a year and a half. Oddly, it took falling out in competition to get over it! Of course, now that I have stopped caring, the posture has improved.

    Oh and in a total non sequitur, I am (finally!) going to Joseph Encinia’s workshop in Dallas this weekend. I missed it last year because of child care issues, so I am super excited!

    Reply

  4. tallmartha
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 18:20:15

    This was hard to decide. I don’t think there are postures that I really love over the rest. The beginning breathing and half moon are my least favorite. So it’s nice to get them over and have the whole rest of class to enjoy!!

    I do agree that attachments aren’t always a good thing. All postures should get equal attention and energy right?

    Reply

  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Aug 19, 2014 @ 19:49:15

    Posture Attachments http://t.co/SUGM6PhfC1 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  6. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 31, 2014 @ 00:21:25

    Posture Attachments http://t.co/SSV06zUj18 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

