Recipe of the Week: Spaghetti with Garlic, Olive Oil & Red Pepper

In the process of getting divorced, I am currently living in a small one-bedroom with a tiny kitchen. It’s temporary, but that kitchen is still tiny. There’s also no work space to actually make anything super complicated. However, I do miss cooking so my current space has pushed me into looking for things I can make that are simple yet delicious. Hence the recipe of the week: Spaghetti with Garlic, Olive Oil, and Red Pepper.

Prep time? Basically zero. I bought the pre-minced garlic in a jar so I didn’t even have to fool with that. How easy is it to cook spaghetti and add garlic, olive oil, and red pepper? Very, very easy. How good is it? Very, very good.

Now, I also wanted a salad to go with my pasta. However, I wanted something besides a standard cesear. Hence I found Italian Chopped Salad with Lemon Caper Dressing. I didn’t make this according to directions on account of being a bit lazy and not wanting to chop anything up. I brought pre-chopped lettuce instead of using iceberg and radicchio. The store didn’t have ricotta salata, but not worries. Feta is an excellent substitute. I happily paid a bit more for pitted and sliced kalamata olives. I also bought some lemon flavored dressing because I was not in the mood to make my own. However, I know from experience that making the dressing from this recipe would be easy, painless, and very delicious.

I made the salad when I came home and then was lazy for awhile before making the pasta. You could make both at the same time. The salad keeps well for a couple of days and the spaghetti heats up very nicely in the microwave.

Give it a try and let me know what you think.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 16:30:32

    http://t.co/ultmrTFaX9 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 28, 2014 @ 17:30:34

    http://t.co/Ns5ZXFyg8g #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

