That Crappy Class WAS My Best Effort

So I had a pretty bad class on Sunday. It certainly wasn’t the worst class ever, but it was noticeably bad. My postures stunk. I felt physically bad. I wasn’t sick. I just felt bad. I was getting dizzy, but I was plenty hydrated/fed/rested. People around me noticed it stunk.

This last weekend had a lot of stuff going on as it relates to getting divorced and selling my house. After class on Sunday, I had to go over to my old house to clean it. I wasn’t too excited about that and was actually pretty stressed out about it.

I recognized early on in class that my mind was focusing on what might happen after class when I was cleaning as opposed to what was actually happening at that given moment. I managed to get my head back in the present – for the most part – but at some point I had to acknowledge that I was just having a crappy class. Maybe it was because I was stressed. Maybe I hadn’t really prepared for class as well as I thought. Did it really matter? Nope. Too late. I was already in the class. It was what it was. So at some point I looked at myself in the mirror and acknowledge I was having a crappy class.

Seriously. I just accepted it. It’s not like I was going to force it to be something different, right?

Once I accepted the class for what it was, or actually once I gave in and accepted each posture for what it was, things got a bit easier mentally. Class was still hard, but you know what I realized? While that class might look awful to someone looking at me from the outside, it was the absolute best I could do at that moment in time.

I think we have to realize sometimes that our “bad” classes are only as bad as we let them be. Giving our best effort on any given day, and accepting what we get back, is all any of us can do.

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christa
    Aug 19, 2013 @ 17:53:14

    You did it! The only bad class you have is the one you didn’t take.

    Reply

  2. jack joseph's mom
    Aug 20, 2013 @ 05:50:25

    Sometimes you just have to give in to whatever the day/class is.

    Reply

  3. tallmartha
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 08:18:09

    You went and did your best and that’s what matters. I do think it’s so interesting that yoga is like a mirror into how you’re doing (in a mental way, diet way, sleep way, etc.). It puts how you’re feeling out there and gives you an opportunity to address it!

    Not to weird you out, but you were in my dream last night…. I ran into you at a Bed Bath and Beyond (where I was getting a manicure and you were buying some stuff for your new place). In my defense, I had just blogged about the retreat! It was great to meet and practice with you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

