I’m Stealing the Pot

So right now I’m living in this very small one-bedroom while I am waiting for my townhome to be built. I’ll be here for a few months. This presents a small problem – but a workable one – when it comes to washing yoga clothes.

See, I’m used to having a washer/dryer set up in my last house in the basement. I’d let the stinky yoga clothes pile up a bit, wash them, and then put them on a rack to dry in my basement. I have a Laundromat where I live, but I am not in the mood to pay for my yoga clothes to be washed and then I have limited space to let them dry. I really don’t want to put them in the dryer.

Initially, I started off my washing my clothes after class in the bathroom sink and then hanging them up to dry in the shower. This worked fine for about two days. Then the stopper broke in the sink. Maintenance “fixed” it in the sense that the stopper has been released, but I could tell the stopper wasn’t going to be reliable. It was likely to get stuck again.

Hence my solution: The black pot

I didn’t want to wash my clothes in the kitchen sink. The place I am staying at is furnished and provides some kitchen materials. So I took one of their large black pots (I wasn’t going to use my own), dropped my stinky clothes in it, filled it with water and some No Sweat detergent, and let it sit for about 30 minutes. Then I emptied it out and hung my clothes up in the shower.

The system works.

Every day I do this. And you know what? Last night I was joking that I may need to take this black pot with me when I move. You know, as a little memento for living here.

So yeah, I wash my clothes in a black pot in a sink right now. I’ll do it for a few months. But I still go to class five-seven days a week. Not gonna let the fact that I can’t do things the way I’m used to get in my way of class.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tallmartha
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 22:15:34

    Steal it!!! I wash my clothes in the shower with some woolite I keep in there. Not as fun as the pot though…..

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Why I Love Yogabela | My Bikram Yoga Life
  3. Trackback: Pick Your Battles | My Bikram Yoga Life
  4. Trackback: Retro Throwback: I’m Stealing the Pot | My Bikram Yoga Life
  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 18, 2014 @ 18:37:56

    I’m Stealing the Pot http://t.co/zQILR6lxKo #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  6. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 04, 2014 @ 14:11:27

    I’m Stealing the Pot http://t.co/cwFhANUX3h #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

