Bring on the Moment

If it’s one thing that Bikram Yoga has taught me (or forced me to learn) it’s to go with the moment. Repeatedly, I face myself in class again and again, and I am given whatever it is I need for the day.

Recently, I showed up to class having just started my period. So naturally I assumed that I would have a bad class. I only thought this because I have a long history of bad classes on the first day of my period. By bad, I mean I tend to get pretty dizzy, see what I have termed the rolling black fog of death, and have a lot of difficulty staying upright for the standing series.

So when I went to class, I informed the instructor of my situation. I didn’t say, “Oh, I’m sure I’ll have a bad class,” but I basically implied that we should all expect me to stink.

Then I went into the hot room and proceeded to have one of the best classes I have had in the longest time.

For real.

I felt strong. I felt focused. I dare say I was truly in the moment for the majority of that class. I didn’t judge my postures. I simply did my postures. And they were good. Real good for me anyways.

And while this experience was a nice reminder to not judge a class before I take it (no matter what evidence I think I have to support my judgment), it’s also helped me keep perspective in life. Because sometimes, lately, I have days that do not go the way I envisioned them. My typical response is to rail against it. But recently I have just been accepting the day for what it is (or try to for the most part).

This doesn’t mean that if I’m having a bad day I ignore how I feel in response to it. I accept how I feel and what I need to do. What I am minimizing lately is fighting against any particular moment that may deviate from how I wanted it to be in my head. I still get mad, sad, and so on…but I engage with the moment for what it is. Ultimately, my stress level is lower. I keep in mind that it is all temporary. And before I know it, the next moment has arrived.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Retro Throwback: Bring on the Moment | My Bikram Yoga Life
  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 27, 2014 @ 01:22:13

    Bring on the Moment http://t.co/4IygFQCN6C #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

