October Unprocessed

Given the importance of diet (in general but specifically within a Bikram Yoga practice), I feel the need to promote October Unprocessed. October Unprocessed is exactly what it sounds like – a month of eating food that is not processed. The site explains how to determine if something counts as processed or not.

Last year, I learned about October Unprocssed sometime during the month of October. Let’s just say I was a bit late to the game. 🙂 And, last year, I thought it would be something great to do this year. Whoops. I don’t think I can mentally handle taking on a month of unprocessed eating for a month in my current state of being. Too much.

But one of the things I love about the October Unprocessed challenge is that it doesn’t have to be an all of nothing event. You can set your own level of committment. You can do one meal a week, all lunches for the month of October, and so on….

I definitely want to join in and see what it does for me. I’m thinking about what I want my committment to be. I’m thinking one meal a day (most likely breakfast or lunch) Monday-Friday. Breakfast can be as simple as a juice – I’m thinking I’d make it myself with my juicer – or a Raw Crunch bar. Last year I had Raw Crunch bars for breakfast every day as part of my participation. But, like I said, I found out about the challenge at the last minute and just sort of threw something together. I’m not so sure about lunch, but I have time to look into it.

Anybody else interested in joining in on one level or another?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. loribruner
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 20:37:09

    Hi Leigh! I’d love to support you in any way as you tackle all these challenges of your new life and the new school year. I can totally try one meal per day with unprocessed foods! Breakfast is easy for me, so I rather try to push out of my comfort zone a little and tackle another meal (perhaps dinner) in some way. That is the point of a “challenge” and supporting someone afterall. I’ll sort through this and let you know what I decide!

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 27, 2014 @ 14:50:27

    October Unprocessed http://t.co/yqboYz2cwt #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 30, 2015 @ 11:19:15

    October Unprocessed http://t.co/yqboYzjNEx #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

