I’m NOT Going to Class

Tuesday’s afternoon class was horrible. Seriously – it sucked the life out of me. I’ve had a string of bad classes lately with the occassional good one peppered in just often enough to keep me coming back for more. But Tuesday? Ugh. So Bad.

I was super dizzy throughout most of the class. I also just generally felt bad, and I sweated like a maniac all over the mat. I’m not sick. I know that. Actually, I have given up trying to figure out why bad classes happen. If I am not properly hydrated or haven’t eaten well or drank too much the day before I already know I’m in the danger zone. If I’m sick I know why I might have a difficult class. If none of those things are present? Then I have no clue, and I am not sure if it matters that I know the answer anyways. I’ve just decided to let the bad classes go.

But this class on Tuesday kicked my butt. It was so bad that at some point during class I made the decision to not come to class Wednesday morning. I was scheduled for the 9:00 am class, but I talked myself into skippin it while I was still in the middle of my horrific Tuesday class. These were my reasons:

– This class sucks, and I just need a day off.

– Seriously, how many days in a row have I been to class? I have no idea. A lot. That’s the answer. I need a day off.

– I am tired.

– This is hard.

I left the Tuesday class with the firm decision to not show up on Wednesday. I went home, showered, had dinner, and by 8:00 that night was packing up my stuff to take class Wednesday morning at 9:00.

So what happened?

Well, despite a massive case of yoga brain (I was forgetting street names for goodness sakes!), and being utterly exhausted, I did start to feel better as time went on that evening. Before I knew it, I realized I was going to be going to the 9:00 Wednesday morning. I knew there was no reason to miss it.

And so I did.

I got up Wednesday morning and went to class. It was a fine class, and it taught me a lesson. It’s fine to take a day off here and there for any number of reasons including illness or personal schedule. However, making a decision to skip the next class based on how bad the current one is going probably isn’t one of them. It’s like trying to make an important decision about something when you’re upset. Probably not the best time.

So yet again I got another reminder to take the class for what it is, take the moment for what it is, and then move on into the next space and moment and take all of that for what it is.

Yeah, I decided not to go to class and then turned around and went. It was the best decision for me.

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teenieyogini
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 07:25:28

    That’s good advise!
    I’ve been avoiding the hot room. I can’t figure out why, but my brain keeps making up weird excuses not to go.

    Reply

  2. tallmartha
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 07:32:14

    Usually my body needs a day off a week, but the decision to skip is based on how my body feels and not how I’m feeling about yoga. It sounds like your body spoke to your brain and told you go to class! That’s awesome!

    Reply

  3. wendy
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 17:28:41

    I’ve so been there, great post!

    Reply

  4. Meg
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 21:04:05

    In this very moment I can completely relate! I had that class on Wednesday: went in, feeling great and in a super duper mood. Discovered super-fidgety body during warm-ups. Gradually turned into super-fidgety mind. By the time we were on the floor, I was fighting and fighting. No clue what was going on: I was properly hydrated, had eaten an appropriate meal, my fidgety-mind wasn’t going anywhere in particular, just everywhere. But class. was. terrible. Afterwards the teacher asked me the always open-ended “How are you doing?”, even though we both knew something was way off.

    Just finished up class for tonight. Solid. Strong. Worked hard. Felt great through and through. Same hydration, etc. So glad I didn’t get into my own way and talk myself out of going. Yay yoga! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 06, 2014 @ 08:17:28

    I’m NOT Going to Class http://t.co/qZq25WrVvO #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  6. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:48:23

    I’m NOT Going to Class http://t.co/1oJ40no75S #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

