A Mountain of Patience

The longer I maintain my Bikram yoga practice, the more benefits I start to notice. The interesting thing to me is how diverse these benefits are. They are not all physical. I am sure many of you already know this.

Last Sunday I took the 9:00 am beginner class and then stayed afterwards for advanced. Our regional competition is on Sunday, November 17th, and we’re all working hard to get ready for it. Sunday night I sat down to really think about the postures I wanted to do from the advanced series in my routine.

As you might remember, last year all I wanted to do was perfect mountain pose for competition. But this year, mountain is not on my list. I left it off for a couple of reasons.

First, I am trying to cover the three categories of strength, flexability, and balance. For my strength posture, I have chosen lifting lotus. Why? Because I love it and I know I can make it happen. Have you seen the other postures that are listed as strength? I do not have the time to work that mess up. I also don’t have the interest.

So mountain is off the list because I want to do a strength posture BUT I also do not want to do two postures that utilize lotus.

But Leigh, I can hear you saying, mountain is worth nine points. Lifting lotus is only worth six. Why not pick mountain and say screw it to a strength posture?

You would make an excellent point except I still cannot do mountain. So the second reason mountain is not on the list is because it is not reliable. I have to do a lot of work on opening up my hips (it’s happening) in order to get it looking good. This is what I love about the yoga. I have come to love the fact that I still cannot do mountain. I have come to love the fact that my hips are not as open as I would like. I have come to love the fact that this yoga teaches me patience. Things will not be running on the schedule my brain sets. I cannot set up some type of schedule that, if I stick to it, will guarantee that I can do mountain by a set date. There are not guarantees. Everything will happen when they it’s ready to happen. I should accept this. Fighting it doesn’t seem to be working so well for me.

And if you’re curious, I’m also working on upward stretching and leg breaking (left side only. my right leg goes nowhere.). Upward stretching can definitely be made to work. Leg breaking? I am so close. I just need to figure out how to hook my toes under my ribs.

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tallmartha
    Sep 10, 2013 @ 07:38:59

    Sounds like you’ve got a great plan! I remember at the Texas regional tons of people tried mountain and I don’t think anyone did it. If you look at their scores they got a 0 for unsuccessful mountain! I couldn’t believe it! I can now see why people shouldn’t try mountain unless they can hit it every time. Wow!

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Sep 10, 2013 @ 08:29:01

      Yeah – but I thought it was really cool that they got up there and showed where they were with mountain. I was surprised by the number of people who attempted it!

      Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 12, 2014 @ 06:53:08

    A Mountain of Patience http://t.co/Zw0lYfJIRj #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

