Just Accept It

This is a short, simple story, but an interesting one for me.  Lately, I have realized that I am learning and/or getting better at accepting things that are beyond my control. I think the yoga teaches this. Ok – I know the yoga teaches this. Just one example is in the postures themselves, right? I cannot force myself into a posture, but I am forced to accept where my body is at. I’ve gotten better at not beating myself up over my postures. For awhile, I may notice a lot of progress in a posture. Then, that progress may disappear and I go into a deep battle with it. It totally falls apart. I have learned to accept when this happens and not obssess over why (well, I try!). I’ve started to see this mindest of acceptance bleed out into my everyday life.

I think it was last week (I am currently awful at tracking time lately). I had come out of the studio from the 9:00 class. I was showered and headed to my office. I sat down in the car not in any particular hurry. I had not started the car. The keys were not even in the ignition. I was just getting my bags organized. Possibly draining the last of my hydroflask. 🙂

When I parked that day, I had pulled forward. I looked up in time to see a car in backing up in front of me. Normal. I went back to whatever it was I was doing. Then I looked up again and realized this woman seemed unaware that I was behind her. She was headed straight for me!

I couldn’t physically move the car. There was no time and nowhere to go. So I laid on the horn. I didn’t just honk it. I laid on it.

And she kept coming.

This is where my brain kicked in and said, “Ok. This lady is going to hit your car. She’s not going to hit it hard, but she is going to hit it. Might as well relax.”

For once, my brain was not a total jerk. It had a point. I had done all I could do. Now I just had to accept the fact that my car was about to get hit.

And then she stopped. I have no idea how she did not hit my car, but she didn’t. She had to be as close as humanely possible to hitting me without actually hitting me.

See? Nothing to panic about.

Yet another lesson of trying to stay in the moment and work with what’s actually present.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 08, 2014 @ 12:37:20

    Just Accept It http://t.co/virJVccYcr #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

