Stay in the Moment

Recently, I attended a class at my studio that was a bit on the small side (maybe 10 people). The instructor handed everyone a marker and asked us to write on the mirror, directly in front of where we had each set up, our intention for that class. I wrote Stay in the Moment.

stayinthemoment

I wrote that because that’s what popped in my head. Plus, I generally need to work on staying in the moment all the time. So this was a good oportunity to really focus on it.

I have to say, having my intention written at eye level was very helpful. When my mind wandered (oh – you know it went a’wondering!), I could read my intention and shift it back. Every time I looked into the mirror I saw my own intention, in my own handwriting, staring me down. Powerful stuff. It’s difficult to forget your intention when it’s always looking you in the eye.

I know that before each class, we are asked to set our intention. And, for the most part, I do that. But then I forget to pay attention to my intention or my mind drifts away or I forget I ever had an intention in the first place! I know it’s not possible to always write an intention on our mirrors in class. What kinds of intentions do you set for yourself in class? How do you work to stay true to them?

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teenieyogini
    Oct 05, 2013 @ 16:30:02

    What a cool activity! Rare to “change it up” in a Bikram class! What did other people write?

    Reply

  2. tallmartha
    Oct 05, 2013 @ 22:00:24

    Focusing in class is so hard sometimes! Lately I’ve been really working on staying with the dialog and cutting out any extra movements.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Continue on in the Moment | My Bikram Yoga Life

Leave a Reply

