Back, Tuck, BAM!

Last year, when competition rolled around, I had a pretty decent rabbit. If I was properly warmed up, I could usually get my head right up against my knees. There wasn’t a lot of space. I got my hips up a decent height too.

But after competition, I turned my attention to my floor bow. As I worked more on developing my floor bow I noticed that, for whatever reason, my rabbit fell apart. I didn’t let this get to me. I just accepted it. Because, really, what else was I gonna do? Now when I do rabbit, my head is often way out in front of me knees. But I do have a much better floor bow and that does keep me happy!

Yesterday, when I went to class, I came into a conversation the instructor was having with another student about rabbit. Seems several people are having this issue of the head and knees being separated and they are trying to work on it. I don’t recall where she got the particular recommendation I am about to share. It was either from Craig Villani or Mary Jarvis. The recommendation goes like this:

1. Get set up in rabbit (flip your towel over your heels in class, grab your feet).

2. Lean back. I was never doing this step. But just lean back as much as you feel comfortable with.

3. Tuck your chin and proceed as you normally would.

I have been very focused on tucking my chin, and for the longest time I was able to do a decent rabbit if I focused on doing so. However, yesterday, when I added in the step of leaning back I found that my forehead landed right above my knees. When I rolled forward there was almost no separation between my knees and my head. Instant success!

I like to call this process back, tuck, BAM! As in BAM! my head is right where it needs to be. If you try it, tell me what it does for you.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MIke Mitchell
    Oct 16, 2013 @ 14:14:19

    Great stuff, very helpful! I’m with you on this one, trying to get my forehead against my knees in rabbit. I don’t think I ever heard of consciously leaning back before tucking forward. The typical instruction is to walk your knees toward your forehead but when I try to do that my head slides up too leaving the distance between them about the same, and it hurts my back a little too. I love the rabbit stretch as a counter balance to camel so I’m looking forward to improving my posture here. Definitely going to try it next class.

    Reply

  2. Meg
    Oct 16, 2013 @ 14:27:55

    A couple of people that I practice near regularly always lean back before tucking for rabbit, and I never had any idea why. I’m looking forward to being “one of them” in class this afternoon. I’ve been feeling exceedingly “bored” in rabbit lately (“OK, I’m here. Grip? Check. Tuck? Check. Weight off head? Check. Drawing abs in as much as possible? Check……dum-dee-dum….la la la….”) I can’t wait to see how it changes for me with this deliberate movement in the set-up. Thanks, Leigh!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Competition: Take 2 | My Bikram Yoga Life
  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 18, 2014 @ 08:26:17

    Back, Tuck, BAM! http://t.co/VkP6j82tSo #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

