Retro Throwback: Quesadillas & Corn Salad

On the weekends, please enjoy the Retro Throwback where I share my favorite posts from some time ago. Quesadillas and Corn Salad was originally published in August 2012.

This week’s vegetarian dish is simple, but, as you can see from the photo, truly delicious.

There’s a couple of things to know about these quesadillas. First, I actually used gluten-free wraps to make them. Correction, I bought gluten-free wraps and Mark made them. Mark makes all the quesadillas around here because it’s not my cup of tea. I can do it, but I usually burn them (as you can see, he gets a nice golden crust on them) and the insides fall out (and he doesn’t seem to have that problem).

Why did I buy gluten-free wraps? Because I was at Whole Foods, and I found my choices limited. It just ended up being my best option. But you know what? They were fabulous. In fact, last week I had to go to the regular chain grocery store to do some shopping (because my Whole Foods is across the street from Duke University and they were having a big Welcome Back Duke party. Avoid). I needed tortillas, and I was mad that I couldn’t get the gluten-free ones. So what I’m saying is, gluten-free bread products may be worth a try just for the sake of trying it.

The insides of the quesadillas are stuffed with cheese (not vegan cheese. I still have not accomplished the feat of purchasing vegan cheese thanks to the Duke party). They also have peppers from our garden in them. Who knows what kind? I’ve got peppers coming out the ying-yang right now. I’ve got several kinds in my yard, and we just grab what’s ready and throw it in something.

The salad is Mark’s own doing. It’s corn, tomatoes, more peppers of some kind (gotta get rid of the peppers!), cilantrao, and black beans. It was absolutely fabulous. This is one of those meals you can throw together with pretty much whatever you have laying around. The salad could be modified to be any salad based on what you have that is fresh.

And for the curious, the peppers we have right now are: Purple Pepper Beauties, Jalapenos, Serranos, Purple Jalapenos, Giant Marconi, Red and Green Bell Peppers, Sweet Chocolate, and Giant Ozark.

I also have a chocolate habenero growing in my greenhouse that looks amazing but isn’t producing. I’m thinking I’m gonna take my serranos and turn them into tabassaco. Makes sense, right? Hot yoga, hot sauce!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 19, 2014 @ 17:59:15

    Retro Throwback:… http://t.co/rNpHx8Iou6 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 14, 2015 @ 09:06:18

    Retro Throwback:… http://t.co/2YSicmqnNO #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

