Somehow, I Found My Breath

I have had a series of medicore classes lately. You might know what I’m talking about. They are the ones that you show up, you’re mentally fine being there, you do the class, nothing exceptional happens, and you leave. The technical term for these classes is Meh.

As in, “How was class today?”

Response: Meh.

But whatever. I just plod along. Keep showing up and doing whatever I can.

Then it happened.

I set up for class in the back row along the wall. This has been my thing for the last week. It’s where I just need to be right now. Class started and nothing out of the ordinary was happening at first. Then we got to half moon. First side, first set. I dropped down, looked at myself in the mirror and actually connected with my breath. You know all that stuff about focusing on your breath? Well, I may have done it for real, for the duration of the class, for the first time ever.

For the record, January will mark four years of being in the practice.

The person next to me was new and having all kinds of difficulties. I was aware that she was kinda all over the place. Didn’t bother me. Barely noticed. Just kept breathing. The postures were not necessarily easier. I didn’t go deeper because of my connection to my breath. But I entered this space, for lack of a better word, that felt like I was moving effortlessly through the postures even though I was doing all I could with each one. The heat didn’t bother me (we had a perfect room that day). I barely drank any water. At some point I noticed I wasn’t thinking about water, or the room conditions, or what posture was coming next.

I was simply breathing and doing. It was beautiful. It was perfect.

I hope I can find my way back there again.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fionarl
    Oct 26, 2013 @ 01:47:17

    Sounds great. That’s where I like to be too. Hope it becomes a regular fixture for you. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Retro Throwback: Somehow I Found My Breath | My Bikram Yoga Life
  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 17, 2014 @ 02:28:35

    Somehow, I Found My Breath http://t.co/kHQNRMUgss #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 07, 2015 @ 20:33:35

    Somehow, I Found My Breath http://t.co/rHWqHUbsVC #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

