Retro Throwback: Let’s Get This Juicing Party Started

On the weekends, please enjoy the Retro Throwback where I share my favorite posts from some time ago. Let’s Get This Juicing Party Started was originally published in February 2013.

On to the Juicing!

Meet my juicer – the Breville. Yes, I got it after watching Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead. It’s a great juicer. I think we’ve had it for about two years. I’ve recommended it to several others, and everyone seems to be happy with it.

So – juice feast #1 starts Monday. I made all my juices tonight. My juice coach, Courtney, said they would hold for 24 hours. I know the best way to drink the juice is right after making it, but that’s not practical for me during this feast. I would spend my day tied to the kitchen. Plus, I have a job, and I have to go to class!

I made my first four juices this evening.

002Each juice is 32 ounces except the last one. I hit about 28 ounces on that one. We’ll see how it plays out. I’m supposed to drink ALL of this juice tomorrow.

Here’s the recipes (I’ve tasted all of them, and they are delicious). They are presented in order from left to right:

Orange Juice #1

2 lemons, 2 grapefruits, 3 oranges

Green Juice #1

1 full head of celery, 3 cucumbers, 3 lemons, 1 pound of spinach, 2 granny smith apples

Green Juice #2

3 cucumbers, 3 lemons, 2 granny smith apples, 1 pound of red leaf lettuce, 1 piece of ginger (size to your taste)

Green Juice #3

3 cucumbers, 3 lemons, 2 granny smith apples, 1 piece of ginger (size to your taste)

I forgot to include ginger in green juice #1. You could certainly add it in. You might notice I am missing kale. Well, I have four pounds of kale in my house ready to go. I’ll put two pounds in the next round of juices.  Which reminds me, I have some rules for this feast. Let me review them:

1. Consume at least one gallon of juice per day. More if I am hungry.

2. Juice one head of celery a day (to make sure I get salt)

3. Juice two pounds of leafy greens, like kale, each day

4. At least 75% of the juices must be green.

5. Keep drinking my regular water intake (approximately one gallon per day) to stay hydrated for Bikram classes.

So – I’m sticking with one citrus juice a day followed by three green ones. I like a citrus juice for brekafast. Today, when I went to buy my leafy greens, I wanted to get six pounds. I bought up 95% of the kale and had only gotten four pounds. So that’s where the spinach and lettuce came in. I know the kale will hold. I wasn’t sure about the spinach or lettuce so I juiced it first. You should have seen me piling up kale in the grocery store and cleaning it all out! Crazy! You should also try checking out with four pounds of kale. :)

Here’s the breakdown of what I juiced today:

Lemons = 11

Cucumbers = 9

Apples = 6

Grapefruits = 2

Oranges = 3

Celery = 1 head

Spinach = 1 pound

Red Leaf Lettuce = 1 pound

Pieces of Ginger = 2

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. buybest (@buybest3)
    Jan 12, 2014 @ 03:39:57

    These ideas are great, I still enjoy this juicing party. See more juicer post : http://www.bestforyourhome.co.in/juicers/

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 23, 2014 @ 19:11:31

    Retro… http://t.co/ZjvQXW8oK0 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 15, 2015 @ 17:17:48

    Retro… http://t.co/JiF4c7GzP0 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

