Here and Gone

The birthday class was SUPER FUN! It was possibly the funnest yoga class ever. I have awesome yoga buddies who made it even more fun by giving me balloons, water, and wine. My balloons were attached to my water bottle. I left them that way. Later on, I sat at home drinking my birthday water with the balloons attached to the bottle. Try it. Super fun.

Before class started, someone suggested that I be allowed to do three sets of my favorite posture. The teacher agreed to this. So…do y’all know my favorite posture? The posture I subjected everyone to three sets of?

That’s right – standing head to knee.

SHK has always been my favorite posture. I loved it before I could ever kick a single leg out and get it locked nevermind getting my head on my knee. To me, being able to do SHK was the coolest most exciting idea ever. It took me at least two years before I could kick out and lock just one leg, and a good three years before I could get my head to my knee on just one side. I still can’t get my head to my knee on my other side. I still love this posture.

I understand this is not a fun posture for most people. Why the dislike of SHK y’all?

I got my birthday song in triangle. That’s always fun. I told the stuido owner that someone had left a comment on my blog that they sing happy birthday at their studio during camel. We all thought this sounded impossible, but she tried it and found it could be done. I do think it requires some concentrating and focused breathing.

Although I thought about doing a double, I decided to pass on it. My first class was so much fun that I just decided to enjoy it and move on. I spent the rest of the day shopping (a little spree at Anthropologie never hurt) and a fun dinner out.

Thanks for all the bithday wishes on Friday, and thanks for joining me in a class to celebrat!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christa
    Nov 04, 2013 @ 12:27:52

    It was awesome! I am very thankful to be a part of your special day Leigh!! 🙂

    Reply

  2. MIke Mitchell
    Nov 04, 2013 @ 17:30:30

    Sounds like a great day! I thought of you in 2nd set of triangle Friday night and although I sang happy birthday quietly in my head, I guess I could have done it for real since my breath is not totally taxed at that moment. Camel? Have to think about that next. Triple set of SH2K? Wow that must have made some folks think it was the most evil birthday ever, lol. We don’t have any of those traditions in our studio but it sounds fun.

    Reply

  3. tallmartha
    Nov 04, 2013 @ 19:16:16

    Sounds like a great birthday class. The balloons didn’t overheat and pop in class?

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 27, 2014 @ 23:32:05

    Here and Gone http://t.co/fp2VfckwJK #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

