A Little Secret

I have a little secret for Standing Head to Knee (SH2K). It’s not 100% guaranteed, but it’s something that I have found helps me not fall out most times. The trick? Going slow and being patient.

In SH2K, there are times – more often than not – when I get a little wobbly. The wobblies can hit at any point in the posture. In the past, I panicked when I wobbled. My thought was to try to push through my wobblies and get on to the next step of the posture. For example, if I was bening my arms down below my calf muscles, and I started to wobble, I thought I needed to hurry up and get my head on my knee.

Yeah – do you know how often I had success with that approach? I’m not sure I ever did have success to be honest. I think I fell out nearly every time with that method.

Then, sometime over the last month or two, I started doing something different. I’m not sure what sparked it, but I noticed a change in how I responded to my wobblies in SH2K. You know what I did? I stopped wherever I was in the posture. I held it until I regained control. I breathed. Then I moved on.

For example, let’s say I get my left leg kicked out and then start to wobble a bit or maybe my right leg gets a bit shaky. Instead of freaking out and trying to hurry up and get my head on my knee I do….absolutely nothing. I simply keep kicking out. I breathe and find something to focus on. When I stop with the wobbling, I then start to bend my elbows down below my calf muscles. If I start to wobble again I stop and repeat.

Now, this is not a perfect process. I do still fall out of the posture using this approach. But I will say that I am more likely to stay in the posture than not. I also tell myself in my head that I will complete the posture. I think it’s important to notice the language. I don’t say, “Don’t fall, don’t fall, don’t fall.” Rather than tell myself what not to do, I tell myself what to do. See the difference? So I might say, “Just breathe,” or “Pause and focus.” Whatever I want myself to be doing is what I tell myself to do. I find it to be more helpful because I focus on what I want to be doing and not on what I don’t want to be doing.

This approach has really calmed my nerves in SH2K. I am hoping it will translate well to the stage in less than two weeks.

What are your tips for staying in postures or keeping focused?

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nicole
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 12:49:10

    Great advice. I just wobbled out of SH2K in today’s class. Will give your method a try next time.

    Reply

  2. MIke Mitchell
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 15:37:51

    Thanks! I’m always open to any advice or secrets as work my way into this pose. One question I’d like to hear you comment on is how much pressure do you feel in your grip? I’m sure you’ve seen pics or vids or in person examples of hands free H2K. Always amazes me. I try to be conscious of sucking in my stomach and kicking out my leg in a way that the top leg is strong and not totally reliant on my finger grip but I still feel a lot (too much) pressure on my grip that sometimes gives way before the end of the pose. Keep up the great work.

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Nov 08, 2013 @ 12:29:06

      I hope this helps…I try not to have a lot of pressure in my grip, and I actually don’t have much of a grip at all. At this point, my fingers are barely intertwined. I’ve seen the hands free videos. Would love to get there. For me, I learned that loosening the grip would allow me to get my elbows down below my calf muscles more.

      Reply

  3. Trackback: A Little Secret | Roxanne's Blog
  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 29, 2014 @ 03:40:27

    A Little Secret http://t.co/jvQcvMPoYx #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

