Changing the Internal Dialogue

Competition is less than a week away (it’s this Sunday the 17th!). Often, I have a chance to demo my routine along with other competitors at the end of class in front of whoever showed up that day. This has been very helpful. I’ve learned that I am enjoying sharing my routine with others. I am not so freaked out like I was last year.

On Sunday, I did my routine at the end of class with at least five other competitors. It’s really hard for me to nail SH2K right after class. I fell out of it in front of everyone. It wasn’t a big deal. I just set it up and did it again. I did much better the second time around. I also noticed that my internal dialogue has changed when I fall out of SH2K. I am pretty sure that when I fell out last year, my internal dialogue was something like this:

ACK! How embarrassing that I just fell out. I bet everyone thinks I’m an idiot. I bet everyone else has a wonderful, perfect SH2K. I bet they woner what the heck I think I’m doing up here when I just fell out.

I know – stupid, right?

But this year, my internal dialogue has changed to something along the lines of…

Crap. I fell out. Ok. I have time to try one more time before moving on. I think I actually went too slow in the set up. I’ll move a bit quicker this time. That helped. Ok. Good. On to standing bow.

I’m also finding that I am happy when performing my routine. I do have to remind myself to smile, but I’m not faking it. Last year any happines you might have seen on my face was 100% faked. I was so terrified.

I was able to get one last video of my routine. Please feel free to comment. Your comments really do help and mean a lot! I’ve been working on the tips you all have left for me and have noticed improvements. My timing is not bad. From the moment I start head to knee to the bow is probably 2:50. So if I don’t screw up SH2K on Sunday, I can slow down a bit more.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MIke Mitchell
    Nov 11, 2013 @ 16:53:47

    Thanks for sharing your process. The hands flat lifting lotus looks great, more controlled and still. I’m sure you’re going to do great! A higher score than last time, but more importantly, more fun and joy in performing your routine. You’re going to nail it!

    Reply

  2. tallmartha
    Nov 13, 2013 @ 07:29:36

    Looks awesome!! Your routine looks amazing. I can tell you’re internal dialog is calm in the video- bravo!

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 21, 2014 @ 11:51:39

    Changing the Internal Dialogue http://t.co/I5THB6ZZVU #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

