48 Hours

I’ve got about 48 hours until competition hits. The last couple of days, I have been lucky to have performed my routine in front of everyone at the end of class. If you are competing, see if you can get your studio to let you do this about two weeks out. It is really a huge help because it gives you practice in front of people. It’s also helped me because I’ve learned I am having fun with my routine this year. It’s good to see myself that way going into competition.

Anyways, these last couple of performances in front of everyone have been amazing. They’ve been my best routines to date. Now, don’t interpret this as me saying I would actually win if I could replicate these performances on Sunday. I’m not going to win. I’ve got a long way to go to even think like that. But, for me, these routines really showcased my best work. And so it begs the question:

Is it possible to just video my routine and send in the best version? Can’t we just have that count for competition?

I am a little nervous I have done my best work already, but I am trying to not let that thought creep into my head.

I’ve also figured out another SH2K tip. I’ve really been paying attention to what helps me stay in the posture and what might be causing me to fall out. Here it is:

As you start to lower your head to your knee, look at your big toe on your standing leg. This gives you a stable focal point and something to focus your monkey brain on. If you start to wobble a bit, you’ve probably come down far enough that you can now shift your gaze to your stomach. Then, if you are like me, you can have a conversation with yourself about the fat rolls on your stomach as you bend forward in head to knee.

Seems to work more often than not! Also, if I wobble I start chanting to myself that I am staying upright and getting my head on my knee. I never tell myself, “Don’t fall.” I try to avoid saying what not to do and instead focus on what I want to do. I think that’s an important distinction.

I’ve got a few good posts scheduled for Retro Throwback this weekend – all competition related of course. Competition in NC begins 3:00EST on Sunday the 17th. If we start on time, I expect I’ll be going up somewhere between 3:45-4:00. If I can make it through SH2K, and rock out a decent Standing Bow, all will be well. Oh – and I want to score some decent height on my lifting lotus too! That’s not too much to ask for, right? I’ll see y’all on the 18th with an update of some sort.

Namaste!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 07:54:00

    Good luck! I’ll be thinking of you and looking forward to hearing about it on Monday!

    Reply

  2. Meg
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 10:35:48

    Good luck! I’ll be thinking of you and can’t wait to hear about it. I love your attitude and think you’re going to have a blast! Yay SH2K! I’ve really been playing around with mine lately, thinking so much about it “with” you!

    Reply

  3. MIke Mitchell
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 10:58:12

    I bet you’re going to do great! Have fun, be proud of whatever you do, and remember to find JOY in your routine. You’re dedication is an inspiration to me and many others I’m sure.

    Reply

  4. tlhicksglow
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 12:22:38

    Love the SH2K tip – used it today and it worked beautifully!! Good luck this weekend!

    Reply

  5. loribruner
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 16:58:33

    Have fun, Leigh! 🙂 BEEF and I will be cheering for you from Michigan!!! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Brenna
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 22:13:19

    Good luck and thank you for sharing.

    Reply

  7. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 14:14:29

    48 Hours http://t.co/YZ2lUttBmH #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

