Competition Outtakes

Hanging out backstage before the competition isn’t all stretching, keeping warm, and calming nerves. It’s also a lot of fun! You get to hang out with your bestest yoga buddies. A good time is bound to happen. Here are two of my favorite stories:

The Parade

If you’ve never been in or seen one of these competitions, they start out by introducing each competitor. You get to walk out on stage and stand there while everyone else gets called out. You get to stand there in your awesome yoga outfit.

Personally, this is the part of the competition where I feel like a huge dork.

In preparation for this, we had all lined up by group (youth/men/women) and then in alphabetical order. The woman in front of me was competing for the first time. As we were waiting to walk out, we had the following conversation:

Me: I think this is the worst part of the whole competition. Seriously. I feel like an idiot just standing there.

Her: I know, right? Ohhh look at me everybody!!! I’m a 42 year-old woman in a leotard.

I am still laughing.

We’ve all Got a Little Mary Katherine in Us Trying to Get Out

Ok – so backstage is where you plan what you’ll do in the event things don’t go like you want and you need to improvise. The best idea I heard was this:

If you should fall out in standing head to knee, try to make it so you roll/stumble forward and land on the judges table. When you land on the table, do your best Mary Katherine Gallagher SUPERSTAR! impersonation. It’s honestly the best suggestion I heard all day.

Go to about 4:30 in the video where she decided to do gymnastics, but instead imagine me jumping around yelling “Head to knee! Head to knee! Head to knee!”

My routine was not nearly as good as the video. But I have some new ideas for next year.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Noreen McGinn
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 17:49:44

    Well done! Love your blog, very funny and I enjoy reading it! I have been practicing a year and still cant get my head on my knee without falling out, to do it in a competition with nerves frayed seems an amazing feat!

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 07, 2014 @ 20:30:58

    Competition Outtakes http://t.co/fNLBiMmS89 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 29, 2014 @ 17:35:45

    Competition Outtakes http://t.co/ueu7EHjQlQ #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

