And Then There Was Video

I’ve got the official video of my competition routine. Given that I lost all sense of space and time, I am pleased to say that I came in at 2:55. I am happy with that timing! Turns out that was my exact time from last year. How funny is that?

Please feel free to view it and offer any comments or feedback you see fit. I am very happy with my rabbit, and I definitely think there is improvement in floor bow. I have pulled up my video from last year. I made excellent use of the fact that I have two monitors in my office. I stopped each video when I got into floor bow and then compared. I swear I am kicking up higher this year than last and have more of a tear drop shape (but a long way to go!). Once I did this comparison with floor bow I, of course, had to continue on with the rest of the routine.

I concluded that rabbit looks about the same. Stretching is soooo much better this year. Look at where my elbows are in Year 2 compared to Year 1! I have no idea where that came from. It just came out of nowhere during competition. A regular day of stretching does not look like it did on stage this year. Upward stretching is beyond better this year. It was a disaster last year because I was so scared. I dropped my legs because they were shaking so much. This year I did not fall out AND I held it for nearly 10 seconds. Super proud of that. Can”t believe I was so down on myself the other day.

Of course there is continued room for improvement so be looking for future discussions about that. But for now, I am pleased with the progress I have made. I also like to remind myself that I made this progress while: (a) going through a divorce, (b) selling a house, (c) living in an extended-stay place, and (d) dealing with the building of a new home which is still being built as I write this. Additionally, I did less training from June-Novemeber of this year than I did last year due to all of these circumstances. In fact, I almost chose not to compete because I knew I would not train to the extent that I would have preferred.

But you know what? I did what I could do within the space that I had. I learned to accept limitations and work within them. I learned to be happy with giving everything I had to give even if I wanted to give more.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melinda Kearney
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 06:46:10

    Beautiful journey 🙂

    Reply

  2. rebecca
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 10:21:54

    Thanks for sharing this. It was really helpful for me and my own practice.

    Reply

  3. teenieyogini
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 18:52:55

    Best smile ever walking out!! I think we have seen the death of man-bow with this year’s floor bow and your upward stretching is do incredibly awesome, I thought my player froze. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Nov 26, 2013 @ 11:30:29

      I did work on smiling this year. Last year it was all I could do walk out on the stage. Thanks for the upward stretching compliment! I was really trying to work on stillness this year too. Death to man-bow! 🙂

      Reply

  4. Meg
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 19:36:17

    Thanks for sharing this, Leigh. I agree with Teenie on upward stretching! It TOTALLY looked like I paused the video and just had you hanging out there. Amazing!! Your year to year progress is inspiring and really something that should make you smile! (Though I totally get how easy it is to be incredibly self-critical and only see the things you think should be better.) I’ve loved thinking about poses “with” you through this process, especially SH2K and bow. I’ve been rebuilding my own expressions of those poses, and I know you and this community here has been a big part of my motivation for doing it and actually sticking with it! (I used to totally cheat and just hang out in my joints and rely on flexibility and now I am really, really working to pull back and use my strength.)

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Nov 26, 2013 @ 11:31:19

      Thanks Meg! I am so excited to learn about your posture development. I am glad this community has been a place to help motivate you in your practice.

      Reply

      • Meg
        Nov 26, 2013 @ 11:45:43

        Thanks, Leigh! One of my biggest challenges has been checking my ego at the door. I spent 3 years teaching (non-Bikram) yoga after doing a teacher training as my “recovery from graduate school” gift to myself, but then moved and didn’t find the right studio for where I was upon moving in my new hometown. After about a 3 year break, I am back and really really focusing on not cheating to feel like I am “deeper” in a pose than I really am and really analyzing all the micro details of every pose (because at my core I am a total alignment junkie). I know I’ve grown a lot and that my practice is better than ever — and that if I were still teaching, THAT would also be better than ever — but sometimes it’s still hard for my head to say “it’s better/safer/more effective/etc for you to not give in and just bend-bend-bend”.

        Reply

        • leighahall
          Nov 27, 2013 @ 09:18:44

          I think we all “cheat” here and there in our own ways. The important thing, I think, is to recognize that we are doing it. I did it yesterday in camel. I decided that since I had a headache I could come out early. I really didn’t need to. It was just an excuse. I also decided I was ok with that! 🙂

          Reply

  5. tallmartha
    Nov 26, 2013 @ 07:34:31

    Awesome stretching! That pose is so hard! You’re completely right- you should be proud of where you are in your practice, esp. considering all the life you have going on right now! Congrats!

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Nov 26, 2013 @ 11:32:07

      So many people make stretching look easy. I don’t get it. I like to blame it on my hamstrings! It’s a posture that needs some attention, but it’ll have to get in line behind floor bow.

      Reply

  6. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 22, 2015 @ 22:13:21

    And Then There Was Video http://t.co/I7HXCUvzdC #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

