Retro Throwback: Vegan Mac & Cheese

On the weekends, please enjoy the Retro Throwback where I share my favorite posts from some time ago. Vegan Mac & Cheese was originally published in April 2013.

Vegan Mac and Cheese is here! I finally got it right. Well, someone else got it right. I merely found the recipe. Let me tell you, if this recipe hadn’t worked I was gonna call it quits. How many times have I auditioned a vegan mac and cheese recipe? Three? Four? How many times did it end up in the trash? Every single time.

But not this time baby. This time it ended up in my tummy, and I kept it around for a second meal. Oh yeah. It was good.

I thought I had found the ultimate recipe when I read the story that came with it. These guys are not vegan. That’s exactly why I trusted them to deliver a good vegan mac and cheese. They automatically get why most vegan mac and cheese’s are gonna suck.

A few things to know about the recipe (in my experience):

1. It can take awhile. It took me 90 minutes from start to finish. This includes the 25 minutes it baked in the oven during which time I played games on my IPAD. It could probably take closer to 60 minutes if I didn’t fiddle so much around the kitchen. But I wasn’t in a big hurry.

2. I left out the entire step that involves mushrooms. I bet this was an important step that would have added lots of flavor to the dish, but I freaking despise mushrooms. In the end, it worked fine without the mushrooms. I didn’t know what I was missing.

3. You’ll see the recipe calls for beer in the sauce. I am convinced that this is a big secret ingredient for making it work. This is the first time I have seen beer included in the sauce for vegan mac and cheese. This is also why I had hope the dish would be a success.

4. DO take the time to toast half of your macaroni. You can do it while you’re waiting for the water to boil. I had never done this before. The toasted pieces definitely tasted different than the non-toasted ones, but in a good way. I won’t ruin it for you. Go find out for yourself. However, the key to toasting the macaroni is to not look at it while it’s toasting. When looking at it, I found the macaroni refused to turn toasty brown. As soon as I turned my back – for just a few seconds – it toasted itself. You heard it here first. :)

5. The sauce made more than it might appear initially in the pan. I had plenty of sauce, and I even had an extra cup of macaroni. However, in baking most of my sauce got sucked up. The flavor stayed, but I want it creamier. Next time I’m going to up the amount of sauce I use.

Trust me, there will be a next time.

The Final Product

The Final Product

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Vegan Chili Mac’n’Cheese | The Broccoli Bulletin
  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 23, 2014 @ 15:11:28

    Retro Throwback: Vegan Mac & Cheese http://t.co/U5CZPJETcX #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 04:07:53

    Retro Throwback: Vegan Mac & Cheese http://t.co/bnki3mWI2R #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

