Retro Throwback: Just Go to Class

On the weekends, please enjoy the Retro Throwback where I share my favorite posts from some time ago. Just Go to Class was originally published in July 2013.

Awhile ago, I said that my blogging was going to be slowing down a bit because I am going through a divorce. Things seem to be moving along fine. The blogging part is still slow though. Right now I spend all day packing. When I am not packing, guess what I am doing? Right, going to class.

For about the last two months all classes have been a whole bunch of no fun. I show up physically, emotionally, and/or mentally exhausted. I don’t want to do the postures. I do them anyways. Class typically feels like three hours. I go anyways. Every single day that I am in town, I drag my behind to class. It is awful, but I go.

Sometimes I go extra early in order to take a nap before class. I am not kidding. I used to go early to get in some competition training. Now I show up early because it’s quality nap time. I can’t even imagine competing right now.

A couple of day ago I took a 25 minute nap in the hot room. I had been up since 6:00 doing packing/moving stuff, and I was so exhausted. It was an afternoon class. When class started, I was so tired I felt physically ill. I literally thought I would vomit. I didn’t see how I was going to do the first breathing exercise. I wanted to cry. But I stood up and just started doing it. I guess I could have sat on my mat and cried or thrown up, but attempting the postures seemed a more reasonable approach. By Eagle I was feeling better.

So look, here’s my point with this post: If there’s one thing I’ve learned through this process it’s just go to class. Yes, of course there are legitimate times when we can’t make it. But staying home because I don’t feel like going isn’t one of them. I make time for class. Sometimes it takes every bit of strength I have left in me. I go despite how awful I feel. I do the postures despite how awful I think they look right now. Do I feel better for going? Sometimes. But I know it’s good for me. I know it’s better than staying at home. I know it’s what I need to do.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 31, 2015 @ 15:27:42

    Retro Throwback: Just Go to Class http://t.co/EljTtdumi4 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

