Revisiting the Double

Ok…so technically the last time I did a double was at the women’s retreat back in August. However, it wasn’t super hot in the room we were using. I certainly didn’t die or even come close to dying.

In searching through my posts, I found that the last time I did a double at my studio it was relatively fine and fun. It did not go as bad as the one I always remember when I think about doing a double. But, just like that ill-fated double from last May, I had my same Yoga Buddy (YB) by my side. In fact, we planned this little double date together a good week in advance.

We did a few things different this time. First, no more of that 4:30/6:30 nonsense. That has to end. We did a 9:00/11:30 double. That gave us an hour between classes. If you’re new to doubles I really recommend taking a morning class and then coming back in the later afternoon or evening for your second. If you’ve got the doubles thing under your belt, I think the hour break is good.

Right before our first class, my YB told me she wasn’t going to hold back in round one. I agreed with this approach. Here’s my take on how you should approach doubles:

Show up and take the class.

Show up and take the second class.

Now, the first time you do a double I think it’s really about just getting through it however you can. But from then on out? I’m telling you, this philosophy works. The idea is to take the first class and do what you would normally do while, of course, listening to your body. Because we always listen to our bodies, right? Then, come back for the second class and repeat this approach. Each class will likely look different and have its own feel. Just go with it. Don’t worry about what you might/might not do. Just take class like you would any other class.

Make sense?

For this round of doubles, YB and I stayed in the room and had a strong first and second class. We did both sets of each posture which doesn’t usually happen with me in a double in class two. And the biggest surprise? In the second class my best posture was balancing stick. Balancing stick folks! I held that sucka. Trust me, no one was more surprised that me.

But my second class was also weird. It was like living in a dream. Time had no meaning. Postures seemed to fly by, and yet they didn’t. It was like time was hurtling by me but I was also stuck in molasses. So strange. But again, you just gotta take the class for what it is. And for once, I got to enjoy the heck out of balancing stick. How often does that happen?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christa
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 10:11:25

    We did it Buddy! šŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. tallmartha
    Dec 05, 2013 @ 07:39:22

    I used to be afraid to double back to back. Now that’s what I prefer. Like you guys, I don’t take it easy the first class in anticipation of the second. Although I don’t beat myself up if the second class is a little rough! Do you take beginning class before advanced?

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 15, 2014 @ 09:29:52

    Revisiting the Double http://t.co/R7EsJA2yms #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 01, 2015 @ 00:22:21

    Revisiting the Double http://t.co/38gDPtTmct #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

