Retro Throwback: Bring on the Moment

On the weekends, please enjoy the Retro Throwback where I share my favorite posts from some time ago. Bring on the Moment was originally published in August 2013.

If it’s one thing that Bikram Yoga has taught me (or forced me to learn) it’s to go with the moment. Repeatedly, I face myself in class again and again, and I am given whatever it is I need for the day.

Recently, I showed up to class having just started my period. So naturally I assumed that I would have a bad class. I only thought this because I have a long history of bad classes on the first day of my period. By bad, I mean I tend to get pretty dizzy, see what I have termed the rolling black fog of death, and have a lot of difficulty staying upright for the standing series.

So when I went to class, I informed the instructor of my situation. I didn’t say, “Oh, I’m sure I’ll have a bad class,” but I basically implied that we should all expect me to stink.

Then I went into the hot room and proceeded to have one of the best classes I have had in the longest time.

For real.

I felt strong. I felt focused. I dare say I was truly in the moment for the majority of that class. I didn’t judge my postures. I simply did my postures. And they were good. Real good for me anyways.

And while this experience was a nice reminder to not judge a class before I take it (no matter what evidence I think I have to support my judgment), it’s also helped me keep perspective in life. Because sometimes, lately, I have days that do not go the way I envisioned them. My typical response is to rail against it. But recently I have just been accepting the day for what it is (or try to for the most part).

This doesn’t mean that if I’m having a bad day I ignore how I feel in response to it. I accept how I feel and what I need to do. What I am minimizing lately is fighting against any particular moment that may deviate from how I wanted it to be in my head. I still get mad, sad, and so on…but I engage with the moment for what it is. Ultimately, my stress level is lower. I keep in mind that it is all temporary. And before I know it, the next moment has arrived.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 16, 2014 @ 07:13:55

    Retro Throwback: Bring on the… http://t.co/XSIuI3hl4Y #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

