Retro Throwback: Recipe of the Week: Avocado, White Cheddar & Sun-Dried Tomato Quesadilla

On the weekends, please enjoy the Retro Throwback where I share my favorite posts from some time ago. Avocado, White Cheddar & Sun-Dried Tomato Quesadilla was originally published in August 2013.

I’m still cooking in my super tiny kitchen that has no counter space. However, I am succeeding in identifying simple recipes that I can make that are very delicious. Last week, I made this fantastic quesadilla. You’ll notice it has very little prep. I smashed up an avaocado and cut up some cheese. I could have just bought pre-shredded cheddar cheese, but I really wanted to use the white cheddar. I think it was a good decision. But honestly, there are not a lot of ingredients in this and you can pull it together without any counter space. Success!

This wasn’t enough. I also wanted a salad to go with it. I found a great black bean salad. Now, I got a little lazy with the black bean salad. I left out the red bell pepper because bell peppers are expensive and I didn’t feel like paying for it. I left out the green onions but only because they somewhere did not get on my grocery list. Otherwise, I totally would have been putting them in the salad. Pineapply. Nope. Didn’t wanna deal with it. Cilantro? Nope. Now, cilantro totally belongs in this salad, but I didn’t feel like cleaning it and cutting it up in my tiny kitchen. Sherry vinegar could not be found, but red wine vinegar (which I already had so bonus!) can be substituted.

I came home and made this salad right away. It really does need to sit for about an hour to let all the flavors come together. You know what? It’s even better on days two and three. It gets spicer. The quesadilla came together no problem and was suprisingly filling. Together, this is a great dinner combination filled with lots of protein!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 11, 2014 @ 18:52:07

    Retro Throwback: Recipe of the Week: Avocado, White Cheddar &… http://t.co/ATSvuTsan2 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

