Pick Your Battles

In just a few weeks – December 31st to be exact – I close on my townhouse. I cannot even begin to tell y’all how much I am looking forward to it. I’ve been in a one bedroom extended stay for about five months at this point. There are many things I have let go during this time that I am looking forward to taking back up again when I move. The first is juicing. The second is getting back into a more vegan set of eating habits. I managed to stay predominately vegetarian, with some vegan meals, while living here. Every once in awhile I may have grabbed a chicken sandwich from a drive-thru going from point A to point B. It’s ok.

I’m also going to get to stop the madness of driving everywhere. I haven’t been able to work from home which is what I am used to doing most days (I will admit to being spoiled). But having to go into my office Monday-Friday required me to drive 75 miles a day if I also wanted to go to yoga. Yes – 75 miles a day. I live in Durham. I work in Chapel Hill. Yoga happens in Raleigh. Yes, I got tired. I got tired of driving, but I also got tired of coming home everyday and having to pack/repack my yoga bag and wash my yoga clothes in a pot.

When I first started this little adventure I was tired and cranky the first week or two. Then I settled into it. Now that the light at the end of the tunnel has arrived I’m back to being cranky again. I just want to be done with it all already.

But here’s the thing – despite all the driving around and general what-not, I went to class pretty much everyday over the last five months. Yes – I did miss a few for various reasons, but they were actual life reasons and not I just don’t feel like doing the drive reasons. For all the things I feel like I temporarily gave up or scaled down on while living here, simply going to class wasn’t one of them. Living here became a pick your battle situation in a way – and I chose to make sure I went to class. That was my one thing I wasn’t going to give up.

I gave up training less for competition.

I did less back bending at home.

My nutritional habits backslid a bit.

I watched a little more tv than I would have liked.

But I always went to class. And, honestly, that was not always easy to do. There were plenty of days when I wanted to come home and take a nap. But you know what? Whenever I was having a bad day, whenever I didn’t want to go to yoga, those were the days I needed to go. Because despite whatever happened in the class, when I came out I always felt better.

I am thankful I didn’t give up on myself and kept going to class. Sometimes it really is more easy to stay home, but it’s never really worth staying home.

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne Tendler
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 09:37:49

    I can’t thank you enough for your posts. You always give me inspiration to continue on, making my practice a priority. This week my goal is to go to class everyday, since I’ll be out of the country for the entire month of January.

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:54:18

      Thank you Suzanne! I find the best way to make sure I go to class is to always know what class I am going to the next day. For example, I know that tomorrow the best time is for me to go to the 9:00 am. I’ve already made that commitment in my head. You can do it!

      Reply

  2. teenieyogini
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 03:48:16

    You are so awesome!!! Congrats on your new digs!

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 29, 2014 @ 15:09:18

    Pick Your Battles http://t.co/wOEwq1cu4Q #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

