The Benefits of Being Injured

Last week, I noticed some discomfort in my left arm during class. It’s hard for me to explain exactly where the discomfort is, but it’s in my upper shoulder area. I didn’t pay much attention to it. The next day it was there again. Again, I ignored it.

The third day though my discomfort decided to let itself be known. During the first breathing exercise, my left arm felt a bit more uncomfortable than usual. Then, when I attempted to do the first back bend it REALLY got my attention. Pulling my arms back was not going to be an option. This was a bad pain. I came out of the posture. The best I could do was drop my head back and hold my arms up over my head. I’m sure the teacher was wondering what the heck was going on.

The next morning my arm hurt when I woke up so I took some Advil.  That seemed to help. Then I started being more mindful in class about my pain and the postures. Funny though, I have no idea how I could have hurt myself or what I actually injured. Didn’t matter though. I simply needed to accept the fact that I was injured and get on with it.

Having an injury is a blessing and a curse. In this case, my injury wasn’t so severe that it impacted my life outside the hot room. Inside the room, injuries are a curse because they keep us from doing what we want to do or like to do or think we should be doing with a given posture.

This is exactly why they are also a blessing.

Nothing will force you into being in the moment (the universe will not give up on making me learn how to be in the moment!) than an injury. You have to pay attention to your body. You have to give up fixed notions of what class should be like or what a posture should be like. You have to do things you don’t normally want to do or like to do so you can heal. Injuries make us slowing down. Slowing down can be good.

http://www.blogdash.com/full_profile/?claim_code=1f5bf37980f09ec69db6becde64fc665

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tallmartha
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 07:29:41

    Oh man I’m having the same problem! I’ve irritated a muscle in my derriere and forward bends make it hurt. I’m learning a lot about patience!

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Dec 20, 2013 @ 07:36:44

      Oh no! I don’t even know how you DO that. 🙂

      Reply

      • tallmartha
        Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:29:53

        Oh man! In standing bow! I’m sure I did it by not keeping my kicking leg’s hip down (belly button towards the floor blah blah blah).

        TWO MONTHS now! It’s getting better, slowly! Evidently it’s a common injury when opening up hips and over stressing your piriformis muscle in your rear. Pain in the butt…. really!

        Reply

  2. Meg
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 18:33:50

    I feel your pain literally as well! Sinking into my hip flexibility on one side without using my strength pushed my femur up against my pelvic bone through my joint and led to a lot of pain on that side in triangle just a couple of months ago. I really had to slow down, back off, pay attention and be patient. I’m getting back there, but it’s slow going. And so much more work!!! 🙂 I hope you feel better soon, Leigh!

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:59:54

      OH! That sounds awful. I hate it when things are slow going, but sometimes I think that’s what we need to learn, right? I am feeling better. Thanks!

      Reply

  3. Christa
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 13:45:05

    Kind of sounds like my vertigo….

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 17, 2014 @ 18:32:50

    The Benefits of Being Injured http://t.co/JRruH4ehmh #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 20, 2014 @ 15:46:23

    The Benefits of Being Injured http://t.co/dE0PyI9q67 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

