Retro Throwback: If I Get a Cramp, I Must Be Doing it Right

On the weekends, please enjoy the Retro Throwback where I share my favorite posts from some time ago. If I get a Cramp, I Must Be Doing it Right was originally published in March 2013.

I think all these back bends are starting to pay off. I know, you’re probably thinking of course they’re gonna pay off. What’d you expect? I assumed they would, but given my love/hate relationship with them I’m glad to notice some payoff – even if it’s just tiny – so soon. I’ve only been adding in extra back bends for a week now (20 a day, but I only did it five days this week).

I noticed the beginning of the payoff in class last night. We were doing floor bow. My first set looked liked my standard man-bow. Let me explain. When I watched the competition I noticed that my floor bow was a lot like what most of the guys were doing and not at all like what most of the women were doing. If I could compete with the men I might do pretty decent. What this means is I’m simply not very flexible in my back bend.

So yesterday, in second set of floor bow, I wasn’t concerned with anything. I had no expectations. I wasn’t even thinking about my week of back bending (because in my mind it’s just been a short time). I was in the posture looking like I normally look. Near the end I really focused on kicking up, and I actually kicked up to a new height for me! In the process I gave myself a giant cramp in the middle of my back.

I think this is working, right?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 22, 2014 @ 04:54:05

    Retro… http://t.co/Z5KRY5wXLe #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

