Listening to Our Bodies

On Facebook, I follow Eat Vegan on $4 a Day. They provide all kinds of interesting tibits on the vegan lifestyle. By the way, I highly recommend following this page even if you are not vegan. You’ll still get benefit from it.

A few days ago, they shared a link to a TEDX Talk given by Alex Jamieson. You might recognize her as Morgan Spurlock’s (Super Size Me) girlfriend. Her talk focuses on cravings and learning to trust your body. It’s an interesting – and short- talk that I encourage you to take a look at. It talks about how she became a vegan and then later started eating meat again. In both cases, her diet was structured around doing what her body wanted/craved/needed. Not sure what the best word choice is here for her decisions. She looks at it as responding to her body’s truth.

Now, she will tell you, and I agree, that transitioning into a vegan lifestyle was difficult but worthwhile for her health. She will also tell you later that eating meat solved some issues she was having health wise. And these are both interesting points. Given that this is only an 8-minute talk, there is much left out. For example, I would be interested in learning more about how she attempted to address her health issues before she started eating meat again. I’m not here to tell you to eat/not eat meat. It’s just a question I have for her.

Did she try any Bikram yoga? Ha ha. I had to ask.

Regardless of where we might stand in relation to her talk, I think the overall messgae of listening to our bodies is important. One thing to note about her talk is that when her body started to crave meat she didn’t just run out and start eating meat. She took the time to talk to people about her cravings and explore what was going on. When she made the decision to eat meat it was a mindful decision. That’s the important point to me – listening to our bodies and being mindful in response to what they are saying. Sometimes the answer is in our diet, and sometimes not.

I don’t think Bikram yoga is the answer to everything, but I do think it helps us cultivate mindfulness.

The initial response on the FB page I got this talk from is not positive. Someone immediately called Alex out as a phony. I don’t see her that way. I think it’s a brave thing to have built a career on being a vegan and then stand up and give a public talk – available on the internet! – about the complexities of our diet and lifestyle. I don’t look at this as someone being a phony. I look at this as someone sharing a very complicated journey and encouraging us to be mindful.

What are your thoughts?

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teenieyogini
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 19:20:54

    I started eating chicken near the end of my 30 day challenge. I’ve been veg most of my life and never craved meat. While I was doing that much yoga plus other stuff. I was in a lot of pain, and felt like my muscles weren’t recovering fast enough. I increased my plant based protein, added tons of green stuff and still felt off. So I ate a chicken sandwich. It didn’t kill me. I felt better and have been small amounts of meat since then.

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Dec 24, 2013 @ 07:12:29

      Thanks for sharing Teenie! I’ve been eating a lot more meat than normal for me since I’ve been living where I am at and I start to feel sluggish. I switched to vegan at breakfast and lunch and immediately felt better. Same concept!🙂

      Reply

  2. tallmartha
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 20:28:05

    I try to eat meat less than twice a week. And I can say that my body these days does better without it. But, that doesn’t mean it’ll always be that way!

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 09, 2014 @ 00:43:58

    Listening to Our Bodies http://t.co/903UlrGxEX #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 15, 2014 @ 07:07:23

    Listening to Our Bodies http://t.co/SY5WEd722Q #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

