To Challenge or Not to Challenge?

My studio is starting at 30 day challenge in January. I think people are jumping on board January 1-3 as they see fit to start. I haven’t decided if I should join in or not.

My waffling doesn’t have anything to do with the idea of 30 days in a row in and of itself. It has to do with the fact that I am closing on a town house on December 31st and the moving process takes through Saturday January 4th. Here’s my general thought process on those first few days:

January 1st: Nothing going on at the new house because it’s New Year’s Day. Could start the challenge. Need to move stuff out of this extended stay place and/or storage. There is a 9:00 am class that day. Could attend it and then carry on with the moving. Not too bad an idea.

January 2nd: Painters finish up (I hired some people to do some custom painting). Internet and TV guys coming out between the hours of 8:00-4:00. Fridge and washer/dryer delivery coming but I have no idea when. Assume I could take a 6:30 pm class. I worry this will be exhausting.

January 3rd: New furniture arrives at some point. Blinds get installed at some point. Last class of the day is at 4:30, and I have no idea if I will be able to make it. I may still need to be moving stuff out of current place and/or storage.

January 4th: Movers coming to get furniture out of storage at 8:30am. All non-furniture items need to be out. My extended stay stuff needs to be out. Maybe I could make the 3:00? If not then nothing works.

My pugs arrive on either the 4th or the 5th. I haven’t gotten that sorted out yet. I don’t want them to arrive and then just leave them and run off to yoga. The change will be stressful on them.

Someone at my studio suggested I do doubles if I need to make up for a lost day in here. I understand that studios allow for a double or two depending on the challenge, but I don’t operate that way. When I do a challenge, I go everyday for X amount of days. I might do a double during the challenge, but that’s just icing on the cake so to speak. Yes, of course I could start later than everyone – the 5th or the 6th – it’s not a big deal. But here are the questions I have:

1. Is starting up a challenge during a major move really worth it? I haven’t even accounted for unpacking and getting set up just getting my stuff into the new location. I don’t want to wear myself out.

2. Do I really need this challenge? I do pretty much everyday as it is. The new semester for me starts on the 8th. I might stop going on Wednesdays from then until the end of April just because it will make my life a little less crazy. But still – I’m going at least 5-7 days a week during the semester. I don’t need to prove anything to myself. I don’t need to do it just for the sake of doing it. I don’t need to do it to prove I can cram yoga into a move. Yes, it would be fun to join in with everyone, but is that enough of a reason right now? I don’t know that it is.

I’m on the fence, but I’m leaning towards no. I need to take care of myself and shift my focus to the move. This doesn’t mean no yoga, although it might mean no yoga or very little yoga for up to a week. I am ok with that. The world will not end.

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tallmartha
    Jan 01, 2014 @ 22:42:16

    I hear ya! It’s hard to not join in in the challenge fun. Just like listening to your body in class, you’ve got to listen to your life! Make your own challenge when it fits into your life!

    My studio is doing a health challenge. We get to set how many classes and goals throughout. I think I’m going to go for 6x a week (I’m usually 5-6 per week) and do some backbending work everyday! They’re doing posture pics and whatnot along the way if you want. I’m glad to have a challenge that’s beyond 60 in 60.

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Jan 03, 2014 @ 14:30:21

      I like the idea of a health challenge! I like that it’s not just about classes but also other things like back bending or whatever else you might pick. It is nice to have something that more than 60 in 60 and so on. Let me know how the back bending goes! I need to get back into that.

      Reply

  2. loribruner
    Jan 02, 2014 @ 22:47:40

    I vote for taking care of yourself here! I think that striving for balance in the midst of all of this trumps 30 straight days of yoga. Good luck with your move and settling in!

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Jan 03, 2014 @ 14:31:03

      I am voting with you Lori! I’m not planning to go to yoga until Sunday or Monday. That’ll be almost a week with no yoga. But I’ve have plenty to do!

      Reply

  3. Trackback: A Different Kind of Challenge: Who’s In? | My Bikram Yoga Life
  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 05, 2015 @ 20:29:54

    To Challenge or Not to Challenge? http://t.co/fPCANF0iH5 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

