Retro Throwback: Eating Vegan

On the weekends, please enjoy the Retro Throwback where I share my favorite posts from some time ago. Eating Vegan was originally published in September 2012.

I don’t have any great new recipes to share with y’all. As you know, we went rafting last weekend (awesome!). We planned our dinners for the week on the way back in the car. We quickly identified things we could easily make with few ingredients that could be turned into leftovers. I don’t know about you, but when I’m getting back into town I have so much to attend to that the last thing I feel like doing is trying a new recipe.

I thought this would be a great time to share an interesting book: Vegan on the Cheap.

I think I’ve said it before, but I’ve become a vegetarian who is vegan curious. But mindfully planning a vegan meal? I have no clue where to start. My vegan meals are accidental. Hence the book and it’s promise that vegan meals do not need to be expensive.

I learned from skimming the recipes that I was missing two major ingredients: Vital Wheat Gluten and Nutritional Yeast. I managed to get the wheat glute at a local chain grocer (go figure) for a good price. The yeast I found at Whole Foods. Now, at Whole Foods they sell the yeast in large containers that can run 20.00 or more. Don’t get that! Not if it’s your first time using the stuff. I learned they also sell it in the dispense-your-own section of the store. I got a little baggie for maybe $3.00. And a little of this stuff goes a long way.

The first thing I made from the book? Faux parmesan cheese. Why? It takes five minutes to make. Seriously. That’s my answer. And here’s the best part – I screwed up the ingredients. The recipe calls for three things (3!) – slivered almonds, nutritional yeast, and salt. I bought slivered almonds that had been cooked. I needed them to be raw. I decidd to forgo the almonds, and another trip to the store, and use walnuts (the author said I could).  You toss these things on a food processor and grind them up.

The result?

It wasn’t awful. I know – makes you want to run right out and make some doesn’t it? I made Mark eat it first.

Nutritional yeast has a bit of a cheesy taste to it, and it gets used in lots of vegan recipes to create a cheesy flavor. We did end up using the faux parm. It keeps in the fridge for two weeks, and we would just add it on top of things that (go ahead and laugh) often had cheese on it to begin with.

We’re just experimenting here. Vegan curious, remember? In this case, that might not mean eating a full on vegan meal but playing around with vegan cheese and, apparently, mixing it with actual cheese. Personally, I would stick with buying the Daiya before I make this faux cheese again. However, we will be making actual meals – real, vegan meals – from this book. So stay tuned!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 28, 2014 @ 09:28:10

    Retro Throwback: Eating Vegan http://t.co/AHtqJU8lcV #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

