Retro Throwback: Nothing Special

On the weekends, please enjoy the Retro Throwback where I share my favorite posts from some time ago. Nothing Special was originally published in March 2012.

I am finishing up reading the book Nothing Special. It’s about developing a zen practice. What does it mean to practice zen? The heck if I know. This is the first book I have read on the topic. It’s technically very easy to read. Technically. The language is simple and easy to understand. It’s the concepts that are blowing my mind. This is the kind of book I will have to read again and again and again to even remotely grasp, and yet I fully believe it will be time well spent. I think when I am done I will go back and engage more in-depth with one chapter at a time for as long as I feel like it.

Last night, I read the chapter, “Chaos and Wonder.” In this chapter, the authors talk about the importance of finding the wonder in everything – even the mundane. They suggest that when something comes up in our lives that we don’t like (anything at all), we ask ourselves, ‘Where’s the wonder here?” They also state that they can’t fully explain what wonder is, and that it is not something we can learn from thinking.

I thought about this in relation to triangle pose. That’s something I hate doing. I’m going to practice this afternoon. I am setting my intention now to ask myself, “Where’s the wonder in triangle today?” when we get to that point. As I understand it, wonder is about being curious about what we are experiencing and maybe even investigating it further, or maybe just noticing it and marking it as interesting. Normally I don’t wonder about what I am experiencing in triangle. I fight what I am exeperiencing.

Today, instead of fighting it, I will try to be interested and curious about my whole experience. Now, this doesn’t mean I will have a great triangle. I might, but I might now. What I experience is not the point. HOW I experience it is the point. How do I engage with what I am experiencing? Can I be in the moment with my experience and not thinking things like, “Sheesh. When will this posture end?” Can I be comfortable and at peace with whatever triangle brings me today? Let’s find out!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 30, 2014 @ 07:44:31

    Retro Throwback: Nothing Special http://t.co/Q0WqhzsXkB #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 10, 2015 @ 00:41:14

    Retro Throwback: Nothing Special http://t.co/gIe2UlGi1T #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

