A Different Kind of Challenge: Who’s In?

Last week, I blogged about whether or not I should engage in my studio’s 30-day challenge that started the beginning of January. In the comments section, Tall Martha shared how she was participating in a slightly different kind of challenge at her studio. Her studio is doing a health challenge, and Martha said participants get to decide how many classes per week they will commit to as well as any other goals they might have. She’s going 6-days a week and working on extra back bending.

I liked that idea. It is, as Martha pointed out, a different way to approach a challenge. If you’ve never done a 30, 60, or 100 day challenge, the are most definitely worth doing. You will learn a lot from them. I’ve documented my own 66-day challenge on this blog that you can look at too.

But once you’ve done those challenges, doing them again can be fine but it’s not going to be the same. I like the idea of a health challenge because you can focus in on anything you want and push yourself however you want.

And so I am totally going to steal this idea of a health challenge from Martha and her studio. Let’s do a health challenge together. Me, you, and everyone else who wants to join in.ย  Think about what you want to do and put some ideas in the comments section. Nothing is set in stone – let’s just hear what you’re thinking! We’ll kick off the challenge on February 1st and hold it for the month.

The rules are simple: What are one or more things you want to commit to for improving your health?

Your answer may be about Bikram yoga – like going to a certain number of classes per week – or it may not be about yoga at all. Or maybe it’s about some other kind of yoga you practice. Maybe it’s about your diet or working on keeping your stress levels down. Hmm….maybe I should set the goal of getting two massages a month instead of just one. I’m kidding! Other than having to pay for it, two massages a month wouldn’t be very much of a challenge. ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ll tell you what I’m thinking off the top of my head….For February I’ll commit to five Bikram classes a week. I think this is reasonable. I have a short work trip planned (I can practice where I’m going), and I’m giving myself space to get settled into the new home. That’s really not a challenge so much as an agreement with myself about my classes. I can do five days a week no problem.

My real challenge is getting back into my vegan diet. I let that fall off the bandwagon when I was living in extended stay waiting for this house to be finished. I was largely vegetarian, and I so need to stop eating cheese. I would imagine my challenge would be maintaining a vegan diet for all meals eaten at home. I eat most of my meals at home just so you know. I’ll use the month of January to get back into the vegan mindset.

What do you want to do? Let’s make this happen. And thanks to Martha for the inspiration!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tallmartha
    Jan 08, 2014 @ 22:26:45

    So glad to hear you’re making your own challenge!! Mine goes through early March so I guess we’ll be in sync for yours! Yay!

    Reply

  2. naia
    Jan 09, 2014 @ 13:26:01

    i’m totally in. since i’m going to class daily my added challenge will be to join you in being vegan. i’m really close now but i would really like to see what happens if i stop cheating.

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Jan 09, 2014 @ 13:31:13

      Well yeah! We’ll have to compare notes and take a trip to the Fiction Kitchen in Raleigh. Have you been? I was primarily vegan for 5-6 months, then went to mostly vegetarian. I could tell a difference in how I felt in about 2 months. I’m getting my act back together in the vegan arena and already feel less bloated and am down four pounds (I gained almost 10 between August-December).

      Reply

  3. Meg
    Jan 12, 2014 @ 13:24:05

    I will be in, too! I just haven’t quite formulated my plan yet. I’m really looking forward to this; it will be great fun ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  4. Rebecca
    Jan 13, 2014 @ 12:42:06

    I’m facing my own challenge. I’m moving to an area where the closest Bikram studio is over an hour away. I need to start a home practice. I’m just not sure how to go about this. I think I just need to jump in and play the CDs or the iTunes class and do it! I won’t really have heat and the humidity will be just general East Coast weather. Or course, come July and Aug, I can practice outside and the heat will be there. Open to ideas.

    Reply

  5. Rebecca
    Jan 17, 2014 @ 09:49:08

    That would be great! thanks!

    Reply

  6. E
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 07:22:53

    I’m excited for this! Someday I’d love to do a yoga challenge, but with a toddler and my unusual work schedule, it’s not in the cards right now. I want to spend February focused on fueling myself right. Breastfeeding means I’m constantly hungry and have lost a bit too much weight. I plan to work on eating heartier lunches, subbing nuts for sweet snacks, and incorporating more good fats and superfoods overall.

    Oh yeah, and as a long time vegan, good for you getting back on the vegan train!

    Reply

  7. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 05, 2014 @ 20:14:52

    A Different Kind of… http://t.co/LfKwvsSXDS #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  8. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 24, 2015 @ 22:35:29

    A Different Kind of… http://t.co/h1bRIHQYwd #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

