The Yoga Ship Continues to Surf the Waves

Whew….The yoga ship is still out in rough seas folks. Not too long ago, I shared my recent experience of having a horrible class. Ok – they happen. But you know what I think is really going on here? I hate to say it, but the yoga hole is back.

Guess who's back?

Guess who’s back?

To cheer myself up, I revisited my post from sometime ago about the yoga hole. That was a good idea because I got this little reminder:

The yoga hole is not a fun place to be, but it is a necessary place to visit. It’s not like visiting an awful relative for the sake of playing nice. No. This is one of those places you have to visit in order to kick things up a notch. It’s like taking bad medicine. The yoga hole is all for your own good.

That horrible class I had the other day when my yoga ship sank? That was a Class V yoga hole (see here for my classification system). Recently I’ve been experiencing a whole wave of Class III’s. This means that most of the class sucks and I feel like I should get a trophy just because I am in the room.

I realized I was in a yoga hole today when I wanted to sit down during the first set of half-moon (ok…honestly, I wanted to sit down in the second set of pranayama). I will myself to SH2K before I took a break. I think I sat out or minimized some of SH2K. Although I am writing this a mere eight hours after class I honestly cannot tell you what I did in SH2K today. Something happened. I’d need video to clarify what exactly.

At some point I reminded myself that there are only a limited number of things I can control, and the quality and experiences I have in class do not fall under my jurisdiction. I can control exactly three major things: (a) my hydration, (b) my nutrition, and (c) my breath. I can make sure I have enough fluid in me, have eaten properly, and am concentrating on how I breathe. I cannot control if I feel like vomiting, if I feel dizzy, or how far I go into a posture. I have to accept this. I mean, sure, I can fight myself but where does that get me? Not too far. Plus, I felt a lot better once I accepted things being out of control. I found it easier to go with the flow for the rest of my yucky class.

I’ll be out of the hole eventually. We all fall in, and we all fly out. I think the challenge here is to learn to find the joy of this stupid yoga hole. I’m not sure how to do that, but I’ll try.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teenieyogini
    Jan 10, 2014 @ 13:28:35

    I’m sorry you are in the yoga hole!!! I’ve been very hit or miss in there lately too… Maybe it’s because we both just moved?

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Jan 10, 2014 @ 13:33:39

      Could be that we have a lot going on and the hole shows up. Who knows? I gave up on trying to figure out the why. All I can do is make sure I have proper rest and nutrition. 🙂

      Reply

  2. jessica
    Jan 27, 2014 @ 14:58:20

    Thank you for posting this, it’s very refreshing to see someone with a yoga-based blog talk about this (and not pretend like everything is rainbows and sparkles all the time). When I am in class and in the midst of a yoga-hole, I always think “everyone else can do this, why do I feel dizzy/tired/sick at my stomach- what is wrong with me”? And thank you for pointing out what you can control- nutrition, hydration, and breathing- when you break it down like that, it’s much easier to wrap your head around what possibly could have been the culprit. I also have found if I have sinus pressure, it makes me quite dizzy from coming up to standing, etc in the speed I usually do, so I just slow it down a bit. It’s calming for the mind too just to take a break for a few days to a week, then look at your practice with a well-rested set of eyes. You talked about finding the joy in the yoga hole- me personally, I look back on great practices I have, smile, and thank the stars in the sky that I have the ability to practice anyways- no major health issues, etc and that I am alive to experience the bad with the good. Good luck to you!

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Jan 28, 2014 @ 07:42:12

      Jessica, I often have those same thoughts and do my best to not give them any attention. It is hard! I can see how having sinus pressure would cause issues. I’ve been to class once or twice with a sinus infection. Good for getting rid of the infection, but not so good anytime you hang your head upside down! I agree – we should always find job in just being able to practice.

      Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jul 21, 2014 @ 17:01:10

    The Yoga Ship Continues… http://t.co/a6QQ0e91eh #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  4. Haute Bikram (@hautebikram)
    Jul 21, 2014 @ 17:09:51

    RT @LeighAHall: The Yoga Ship Continues… http://t.co/a6QQ0e91eh #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

