Featured Recipe: Herbed Couscous Pilaf

Oh I am soooo very excited about getting back into cooking and introducing y’all to more fun recipes! I’ve been in the new house for almost two weeks now which has given me time to get some groceries and try a new dish. In this case, it’s herbed couscous pilaf. But before we get into all that, let me share some pictures of the new place.

The new shack from the front.

The new shack from the front.

 

The kitchen in this place is 1000 times better than what I had to work with in the extended stay. And while I didn’t mind my last kitchen in the house I had before, this one has more room to move around.

Where the cooking magic happens.

Where the cooking magic happens.

With all that said and done, let’s turn our attention to herbed couscous pilaf. There are a couple of reasons why I selected this dish…ok…just one…it’s very simple, and it didn’t require any thought. I wanted to get back into cooking but I have obviously been busy unpacking and what not. Plus, as you can see from the picture above, I didn’t have a fridge when I first moved in (I do now). So I just spent a good week with people showing up to my house to deposit things and bang up the walls.

My point is this: If you are having a busy week this is a solid go-to dish. Couscous, in general, is very easy to make. I made the dish vegan and substituted vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. I normally add feta cheese, but I left that out. I was unable to locate fresh thyme as my grocer was sold out. I definitely thought it needed more flavor than what the vegetable broth and salt provided so I also added in lemon juice (to taste) and pepper.

There is one difference between this recipe and how I normally make couscous. Normally, I boil the liquid and then add the couscous in. This recipe required me to sauté the couscous for one minute, add the liquid, and then remove from heat when it started to boil. Given that the couscous to liquid ratio is nearly 1:1, I had an impossible time determining if the liquid was boiling or not. I thought it was, and in the end it all worked out fine.

I can’t tell that sautéing the couscous did anything. In the next go around, I would still sauté the shallot, add more shallot (a personal preference), and skip the part where I sauté the couscous. I’d cook my couscous as I normally would and then add in the shallots at the end. I will get 2-3 meals out of this recipe. Additionally, I added some naan and hummus to go along with the meal.

The end result

The end result

 

 

Another plus side for this dish is the very simple clean up and easy storage of leftovers. I’m looking forward to making it again and playing around with the flavors a bit. Any suggestions? What would you add?

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tallmartha
    Jan 13, 2014 @ 07:34:56

    I like adding a handful of frozen green peas to rice and quinoa as they cook. I bet it would be good with couscous!

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 05, 2014 @ 00:10:49

    Featured Recipe: Herbed… http://t.co/fLEq1sBcuw #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 09, 2014 @ 10:46:53

    Featured Recipe: Herbed… http://t.co/fLEq1sSNCA #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

