It’s Never What It Seems

Oh the universe. It is determined to teach me to live in the moment and not make stuff up in my head. Good idea. Hard quality to develop.

I recently got a taste (again) of this lesson when I lived in my extended stay place for five months. While the extended stay was tiny, and had virtually no kitchen, it was located in a neighborhood I thought would be the best neighborhood in all of Durham to live in.

I’ve lived in Durham for almost nine years. The house I had previously was in a great location, but this other neighborhood, well, I thought it would just be the happiest place on earth to reside in. I was always trekking over there to go to Whole Foods or eat at a restaurant or go for a walk on the loop at Duke University’s East Campus.

Walk 40 minutes and eat a cookie!

Walk 40 minutes and eat a cookie!

The thing I loved about my extended stay location was that I was two blocks from Duke University (and one of my beloved walking trails!) and just a 20 minutes walk from Whole Foods (which is awesome when you want a cookie because walking there and back and eating a cookie in-between means the cookie doesn’t count).

But you know what I quickly realized? Living in that part of town was fine, and definitely had some perks, but it was not all what I had made it out to be in my head. In fact, the house I had previously lived in turned out to be in a much better location. The new neighborhood was a bit removed from everyday conveniences. At some point I had to admit to myself that it was not what I thought it would be. Kind of a let down,  but an important lesson.

When I make stuff up in my head (good or bad) it removes me from the moment and prevents me from getting the full experience of that moment. Moments are fleeting. They are not always pleasant to be in, but it is important to try to remain in them both in and out of the hot room.

How do you work on staying in the moment in any situation?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dawna Kreis (aka Nyah Apsara)
    Jan 19, 2014 @ 08:55:20

    I find it’s quite a difficult, but necessary, practice to remove from myself expectations (as you said, “good or bad”). With expectations or preconceived notions, we often either set ourselves up for disappointment or create self-fulfilling prophecies. What it boils down to is… We limit our possibilities in the moment. Not always easy to go into it with full Awareness, but oh-so-important. 🙂 Thank you for the reminder.

    Reply

  2. Rae
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 01:49:48

    I always think of the song from a little mermaid “The seaweed is always greener” – that may not be the actual name – I often take liberties with song titles :). I spent a year and a half backpacking and instead of enjoying where I was at, I was always thinking about the next city and how it would be “the place”. It never was and I missed out on seeing alot of the cities I was in. Now I focus on the positives of where I am and try to figure out what I think the other place will have and create it here.

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Jan 20, 2014 @ 19:54:52

      I totally understand. I have that same problem! Your approach is good. Try to focus on where you are at that moment and just enjoy it. Let the next moment bring whatever it will bring.

      Reply

  3. mybikramyogalife@gmail.com
    Jan 29, 2014 @ 19:50:25

    Thanks for stopping by. Glad you enjoy the blog.

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 24, 2014 @ 07:13:22

    It’s Never What It Seems http://t.co/g8pJ0NWyqL #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 21, 2014 @ 04:46:59

    It’s Never What It Seems http://t.co/tHrzH22V82 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

