Nationals Are Just Around the Corner

Nationals are coming in March. I’m not going, but I did get an email about how they are running the event. I found it interesting and wanted to share.

In the past, the top two men and top two women from each state have gone on to nationals. That’s changing this year, and I kinda like it.

Here’s how I understand the changes:

  • The first place male and female from each state will get to compete at nationals
  • The rest of us who competed at any regional event are all being ranked based on our final score. The top 50 men and top 50 women from this list will get to go to nationals

What do you think about this?

Go watch people do fancy yoga postures. Then go do one yourself!

Go watch people do fancy yoga postures. Then go do one yourself!

I said I liked it, but also recall I said I wasn’t going. You can try to find me on the current score sheet, but let me save you the time and just tell you I am currently ranked 150th nationally. I am confident, CONFIDENT, this ranking can only improve in future competitions. I’m being funny here, but how could I not think it couldn’t go up?

On the other hand, I don’t know if I care if it goes up. I need to just focus on my own postures and what not. I think I’ll just be happy that I am ranked nationally at something. That is just kinda cool.

Anyways, I like how they’ve changed it because it shakes things up a bit. It also gives more room for different kinds of competitors to go. The first two from NC were the same first two from last year (they just swapped places in the line-up, but both will be invited to go to nationals). They will probably be the same first two next year or at the very least in the top three.

I think they deserve to go to nationals, but I also think it’s great to think about how we rank overall and invite people from there. The top 50 men and women have to go through a pre-qualifier on a Friday night. They will select the top 10-15 men and women to go to the semi-finals on Saturday. The exact number depends on how many first place competitors they have entered. It’s a little wishy-washy, but in a good way. They are trying to make some tweaks and give a little wiggle room.

They still have regionals going through February so they can’t be totally sure what the final ranking is, but they that once you are invited you are invited. People do have to make plans, buy plane tickets, etc…

Here’s my word of advice for USA Yoga: In doing these competitions, I think they need to establish a clear boundary for when competitions should be held each year. For example, if they are going to have nationals in March, then maybe regionals need to be done by February 1st or January 15th. I don’t know what a reasonable date it – but I think some sort of start and cut-off needs to be established. This will help smooth out the other end of things in terms of who gets invited to nationals.

What do you think about the changes?

 

.

 

 

 

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tallmartha
    Jan 24, 2014 @ 11:26:27

    I’m certainly not a competitor much less in the running to go to nationals…. but I think the change is cool. It gives states with many high scorers a chance to make it even if they’re not in the top two (let’s face it with Afton down here one of the top two spots is TAKEN!).

    I think as it stands now our second place in Texas is going to nationals (she’s second I think after all the first place spots). But I think it’s crazy that some people won’t know whether or not they’re completing until right before the competition. I agree that the regionals should be completed earlier for those in the gray area on the list.

    I guess we’ll have to see how things go in March! Since nationals is in San Antonio I think a group of us from Austin are going! Yay!

    Reply

    • leighahall
      Jan 24, 2014 @ 11:54:44

      Agreed! I was wondering if you were going to take a road trip to San Anton! I think the switch up has the potential to make the competition more interesting by introducing new faces that wouldn’t be there if they did just the top two from each state.

      Reply

  2. Bee
    Jan 24, 2014 @ 14:16:59

    I’m relatively new to your blog and totally think this is a good idea with the goal of the organization being to get into the Olympics. Elite sports could care less about the distribution of talent across a country, so a scored-based qualification system only makes sense. I live in San Antonio and like tallmartha agree about the difficulty of qualifying based on regional placement. I’m sure that there are any number of people who have not been able to compete in the past that this opens up Nationals to.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: URL
  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 04, 2015 @ 20:28:15

    Nationals Are Just Around the… http://t.co/RMGoI1EkTe #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

