Lifting Lotus Suprise

It’s been awhile since I’ve done lifting lotus. November, in the competition, to be exact. Since then I just stopped working on it. Gave myself a little lifting lotus break and kinda forgot all about it.

To prepare/improve my lifting lotus, I had bought a couple kinds of gadgets. First, I had a Captains of Crush hand gripper to improve my grip strength. I also had a Grip Master to improve my finger strength. Both worked well.

Now, have I been using either of these tools since November? Of course not.

Here I go expecting things again.

Here I go expecting things again.

But for some reason, I got it in my head the other day that I needed to give lifting lotus a try before class. I started off by making a handful of assumptions about myself. Basically:

  • Don’t expect to lift up much or at all because I haven’t done any work on it
  • If I do lift up, expect it to be one of those crazy lifts were one side goes up really high while the other half drags on the ground.

But whatever. I just needed to do it.

For competition, I didn’t go up on my fingertips. I lifted up on my palms. This is because I had no confidence in my ability to do one well enough if I lifted off of my fingertips. I just wasn’t demonstrating consistency doing so before the competition. And for competition you can still get points if you go up on your palms – just not the full amount. I was fine with that.

But I forgot all about the fingertips/palm thing when I set up and went into it. I went up on my fingertips without even thinking about it. And you know what? I went up.

Holy crap. I went right up. And then, I held it and counted to seven. I smiled at myself in the mirror around count five. By the time I reached seven my fingers hurt so I set myself back down.

And all I have to say is this:

Where the heck did that come from and how can I get it to come back every single time?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teenieyogini
    Jan 27, 2014 @ 12:51:59

    Sometimes magical changes come when we give ourselves a break! This was so exciting to read! Good job!

    Reply

  2. Meg
    Jan 27, 2014 @ 15:11:57

    I totally agree with Teenie! Yippee! And hooray for managing expectations going in and being so pleasantly surprised coming out! 🙂

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:47:46

    Lifting Lotus Suprise http://t.co/vovvVN07yy #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 08, 2014 @ 02:41:56

    Lifting Lotus Suprise http://t.co/vovvVNQUWK #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

