Featured Recipe: Chickpea Salad Wraps

I have no problem owning up to my chickpea addiction (I was just recently chowing down on them). In fact, I am LOVING my chickpea addiction. Recently, I tried the chickpea salad wraps that I found at Oh She Glows (fabulous blog by the way). The author and I have something in common: we are lazy lunch makers.

More please!

More please!

Yep. It’s true. I am not a big fan of making lunch (or breakfast). I do enjoy making dinner. I will spend all day in the kitchen to make dinner. It’s relaxing. But I go on auto-pilot for breakfast and lunch.

Anyways, the salad wraps looked easy, and I thought if I made them on the weekend then I would have leftovers for most of the week. Brilliant idea in theory. In reality, this recipe was so yummy that it lasted three days.

First, let me tell you about the modifications I made. I left out the celery (don’t like celery). I forgot to buy dill (an accidental modification. I think dill would be marvelous in this dish!). I went with the walnuts instead of sunflower seeds.

The directions call for you to toast sunflower seeds. You could toast the walnuts too. Did I mention I am also a lazy lunch maker? Right. I didn’t toast anything. Just chopped them up. Works fine!

I was also “supposed” to mash up the chickpeas. Nope. Probably works really well. Probably a great idea. Didn’t feel like doing it.

All mixed up and ready to eat!

All mixed up and ready to eat!

Since I didn’t mash up the chickpeas, I am guessing this is why when I got around to putting them in the wrap some of them kept trying to escape and roll away from me. So, if you are going to do this in a wrap, probably a good idea to mash up those chickpeas.

The wrap in all its glory.

The wrap in all its glory.

Anyways, the dish was simple and delicious. But the next day I decided I didn’t want to fool with runaway chickpeas. I was also too lazy to mash them up. So I simply got a bowl and threw some of the chickpea salad in it. Then, because I am waaaay to into chickpeas, I got some hummus and put it on the side. I added in some pita chips and viola! I basically ended up with a deconstructed chickpea salad wrap dish.

The deconstructed version

The deconstructed version

For the record, this was my favorite way to eat it. I know, I know….that is a whole lot of chickpea goodness up in there. But I do not care. Plus, do you know how many containers of random hummus I was able to finish off? This was a practical meal!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 13, 2014 @ 22:19:14

    Featured Recipe: Chickpea… http://t.co/N6dcvo3tkK #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 28, 2014 @ 12:16:34

    Featured Recipe: Chickpea… http://t.co/N6dcvoUgIW #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

