Let the Challenge Find You

I’ve been looking for a new way to push myself, but I’ve had a hard time landing on something that felt right. Finally I just stopped trying to force something into a box and stopped thinking about it. That’s when I learned something: Sometimes you need to just quiet your brain and let the challenge find you.

Recently, I was reading a blog post about how to make some baked sweet potato chips over at Fit & Awesome. The title noted that the recipe was Paleo and Whole30 friendly.

Now, I had heard a bit about the Paleo diet. I’m not at all an expert on it, but I am generally aware of it. But Whole30? What’s that?Challenge

Well, someone quickly informed me that Whole30 was is hard. Seriously, difficult hard. Ok – that did it for me. I spent a good chunk of my day doing some basic research and bought the intro book on it. As I understand it – on a very, very basic level – the Whole30 is about cleaning out your system in a pretty extreme manner. There’s a whole list of things you cannot eat for 30 days.

Some highlights of what you cannot eat:

  • dairy (I got that one down already)
  • beans (uh-oh. I love beans)
  • alcohol (not a problem)
  • white potatoes (not a problem)
  • sugar (oh crap. I am screwed)

I think I can eat eggs, seafood, chicken/pork, and kale. Seriously, I can eat a ton of fruits and veggies not just kale.

But, of course, I do have to eat meat if I venture down this road. Now, of course, there is a rationale for eating meat that is provided in the documents I listed above. I won’t get into that now. Second, I could probably do the Whole30 as a vegetarian (actually, vegan since if I left out the meat I’m down to fruits and veggies). If this idea appeals to you, there’s a great FB page on the topic.

I have to be honest, doing a Whole30 without meat does not appeal to me. This is because all of the things I rely on as a vegan are mostly removed from my diet. So it’s a little too overwhelming for me. My thought on taking this on is to do it the first time around with eggs, seafood, other meats, etc….and then work out from there to a vegan approach if I desire.

The best and worst part.

The best and worst part.

What I am honestly worried about is the sugar, but that’s also one of the biggest appeals to doing this. Thank goodness I do not have a caffeine addiction anymore. I think I’d have to kick that first before I started! But I do eat chocolate, and I do have a sweet tooth. But again, this is the part that is going to be good for me.

At the end of the 30 days, the idea is to start reintroducing the eliminated foods back into your diet and see how your body handles them. I already know a bit about this already. I know that my body does better without dairy. I know I don’t miss eating meat (I always miss eating cheese), but I also know that eating meat likely won’t have a negative effect on my body. I tend to eat meat when I travel  – I tend to go with what is easiest – and it doesn’t seem to be an issue. It will be interesting to see what my body thinks when I take out beans, pasta, etc…(and chocolate!!!!) and how I feel when I reintroduce those things. Because believe me, I will definitely be reintroducing beans!

Of course, I’m curious as to what this will do for my practice. At any rate, I’m giving it a go for the month of March. And, in true Bikram challenge spirit, I’ll do it for 31 days (the challenge +1). And, I will tell you all about it.

Resources

Lindsay, over at Fit & Awesome, gave me some great links to share with y’all if you are interested in learning more:

http://fitandawesome.com/gluten-free/my-top-30-essentials-on-whole30/

http://fitandawesome.com/gluten-free/my-whole30-challenge-recaps/

http://fitandawesome.com/shop/paleo-diet-books/

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lahall99
    Feb 18, 2014 @ 13:50:00

    Testing

    Reply

  2. Lara
    Feb 18, 2014 @ 19:00:00

    I’ve done Whole30 before and I really should do it again. I have not yet recovered from the crappy holiday eating…and it’s the middle of February! It’s hard, but I felt so good after the first week, that it felt easy. Good luck!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Starting the Whole30 | My Bikram Yoga Life
  4. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 16, 2014 @ 14:27:06

    Let the Challenge Find You http://t.co/5qVUAdzkGU #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 09, 2014 @ 18:47:23

    Let the Challenge Find You http://t.co/dxIvXOSD0y #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

