Whole30 Kick-Off: What to Eat?

My decent into the Whole30 has begun. It began Thursday with a trip to the grocery store that took forever. Actually, it began at home where I spent nearly an hour trying to figure out what I would eat besides scrambled eggs and random pieces of meat. I had found so many sites with so many helpful recipe ideas that I truly felt overwhelmed. My brain got stuck.

Ever happen to you?

I know it’s normal to feel overwhelmed. Suddenly, everything I’m used to eating all day long has to go. Where to start? I started with breakfast.

I managed to locate a site with 30 Whole30 breakfast recipes. From there, I zeroed in on breakfast sausage. I figured I could make a lot of these in advance over the weekend and have them for most of the week. I do not get excited about eating breakfast let alone cooking it. I needed to get it on auto-pilot.

Well, this was all fine until I got to the store and started looking at how much ground pork cost. Somehow, I managed to locate some pretty cheap ground pork in a tube, but it had added sugar in it (recall I cannot have the sugar). So it was out. I had given up and resigned myself to eggs for the week when I realized it didn’t have to be sausage OR eggs. It could be both.

These rules will be the death of me.

These rules will be the death of me.

That’s how I decided to make scrambled eggs with ground sausage and peppers for my breakfast. Yeah, this means I have to cook breakfast every single morning. I’ll live. I guess.

I also wanted to keep lunch and dinner simple. I really only like to cook at dinner time, but when I get home from yoga at 6:30 pm (and need to shower and walk the dog), I am not too down with cooking. I also needed meals that I could take with me for days when I would be at work.

I managed to identify two meals. The first is this grain free chicken salad. The second is a Tex-Mex salad. I figured that was good enough to at least get me started on week one. I think the two salads can easily be swapped back and forth for lunch or dinner depending on what I’m in the mood for.

Kick-off for the Whole30 is officially Saturday, March 1st since I have managed to make it to the grocery store in time. It will go the entire month of March – so 31 days and not 30. I’ll be checking in on Monday (Day 3) with an update.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 02, 2014 @ 07:55:09

    Whole30 Kick-Off: What to Eat? http://t.co/5bS9h5HQj4 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 14, 2015 @ 01:04:21

    Whole30 Kick-Off: What to Eat? http://t.co/mthE5v72bo #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

