Retro Throwback: Why I Love Yogabela

On the weekends, please enjoy the Retro Throwback where I share my favorite posts from some time ago.

Ok – we all know I have a lot of yoga clothes. These clothes encompass a wide range of brands. I ended up with so many brands because I tend to buy what’s in my studio and I will pick something out when visiting another studio. But I do have some special words for Yogabela.

Back in the summer, I bought a pair of orange shorts from Yogabela. This was after I had paid off my trip for the women’s retreat. While I haven’t gone gangbusters on buying yoga clothes, I did decide I needed a new pair of shorts after going many months without. This particular pair of Yogabela shorts had been hanging on the rack in my studio conversing with me for awhile.  They really wanted me to own them, and I wanted to make those shorts happy by giving them a good home. Plus, there were a few other reasons why I thought I should buy them: (a) I did not own any solid orange shorts and (b) they didn’t have ties on them. These shorts were the kind with the fold over the top. I love that kind. I will tolerate those ties so many people put on their clothing but I really don’t like them. They just annoy me. Anyways, I had solid reasons for buying those shorts is all I’m saying. Try to knock a hole in that argument. You can’t. It is iron-clad.

Alright – so I buy these shorts for the standard price which is somewhere in the neighborhood of 40-ish dollars. I wear them maybe five times when, near the end of class, I notice a hole in them. It was, in all places, in my butt/crotch area (sorry if I flashed you that day. I did not know the hole was there until about 85 minutes into class). It was neither a small or large hole. But it was a hole.

Now, I treat my yoga clothes well. I know I currently hand wash them in a pot, but that’s really a reflection of my living conditions. The washer/dryer down in the laundry room is horrible. I am not putting my yoga clothes in it. But back in the day when I had a good washer, I would wash my yoga clothes in delicate and then lay them flat to dry. So I was a bit peeved to see this hole in my rear end.

Thankfully, Yogabela has excellent customer service. I contacted them, and someone responded immediately. I was told to send my shorts back and they would either repair or replace them. So I did this. I threw in a note in with my shorts explaining the problem and saying I would email them my address.

Then I forgot to email them my address. Sort of. I remembered I needed to contact them most days I went to yoga. I’d be in some posture and think, “Crap. I need to tell those Yogabela people where to send my shorts.” Then I would wander out of the room and do nothing.

But Yogabela is so awesome that they contacted me and asked for the address. I gave it to them and had the shorts within 48 hours. Brand new pair. Same color and everything, but completely brand new.

I’m not saying other yoga clothing companies wouldn’t do the same thing. I also don’t have an issue with the hole that appeared in my original pair. These things happen. It’s how the problem gets treated that is important to me. And at the end of it all, I love Yogabela.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 14, 2014 @ 14:21:02

    Retro Throwback: Why I Love… http://t.co/3evGSV7JI5 #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

