Why Do a Whole30?

The most common question I have gotten about this Whole30 adventure is why am I doing it? Honestly, when I found out I would have to revert back to eating meat I almost didn’t. And yes, I know I can do this a vegetarian, and possibly a vegan, but it seemed to overwhelming. At least I could grasp what this might look like with meat.

But back to the question: why do this to myself? Here are my primary reasons:

1. Whole30 focuses on cutting out sugar. I am a massive sugar junkie. Cutting out sugar is a good experience for me (or a horribly-fabulous experience to quote a term from a Yoga SugarBuddy).

2. Cutting out the carbs. I also eat a lot of carbs. So, again, it’s about scaling back.

3. 30 days with no soda. I can actually do this with no problem. However, I still drink them here and there. It’ll be good for me.

4. A chance to break my normal eating habits and evaluate them. We all get into a routine. Routines are both good and bad. This Whole30 breaks my food patterns and provides me the opportunity to reevaluate what I eat and why (and how I feel when I do/do not eat certain foods).

Will this help me with my practice? That has yet to be seen. I hope to have a handle on this question in a couple of weeks.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 04, 2014 @ 21:29:53

    Why Do a Whole30? http://t.co/w4nvZhzuJA #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Nov 13, 2014 @ 19:55:19

    Why Do a Whole30? http://t.co/w4nvZhR5RE #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

