Favorite Things: Dr. Singha’s Mustard Bath

The first time I ever heard about Dr. Singha’s Mustard Bath was from a competitor. She was sore – probably very, very sore, and had it recommended to her. She said it helped. I was immediately interested, but my lazy butt just didn’t get to Whole Foods anytime soon to buy some of this stuff (which you can also order online, but I guess I had an extreme case of the lazies).Dr. Singha's Mustard Bath

The website explains the benefits of the mustard bath:

Mustard is renowned for its stimulating, cleansing and rejuvenating qualities. The warmth of Mustard gently opens pores and assists in the elimination of impurities.

So, is it worth it? Well, first, I’m not gonna lie. Mustard baths are a bit on the expensive side. When I finally wandered into Whole Foods and remembered to buy it, I found that the 10.00 container would get me around three, maybe four, baths.

But, luckily, they have individual servings of the stuff for cheap. So I got one of those, brought it home, and waited until I was sore. I saved it for a day when I did beginning and advanced.

The contents do not make your tub look pretty. In the interest of being honest, it looks like you are sitting in a tub of pee. Don’t let that turn you off though because the stuff smells great! A portion of the ingredients are essential oils of eucalyptus, rosemary, wintergreen & thyme. It will clear your sinuses right up.

Just get over the color.

Just get over the color.

So yeah, you’ll be lying around in a tub of great smelling, pee-colored water. And, in case you are wondering, you will not turn yellow anywhere at all!

When I got in the tub, I was sore (particularly my hamstrings). When I got out, I was not sore anywhere. I didn’t jump on the mustard bath band wagon right away though. Usually I feel almost 100% better when I first get out of a hot bath. The question was, how would I feel the next day?

The next day I felt amazing. I wasn’t sore anywhere, and I’m always at least a little sore after advanced the next day. I’m still torn on the price. Obviously this isn’t something you use everyday – maybe once a week. But if you have sore muscles this is worth at least a try. If you are sick, I also think this will help you feel better. Just breathing in the herbs would likely make you feel at least a tiny bit better.

If you’re interested, I encourage you to read more about Dr. Singha and his products.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Martha Thomas
    Mar 08, 2014 @ 09:36:00

    I’ll have to try that stuff! I use epsom and it helps…. but I’m still sore :-/

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 20, 2014 @ 10:01:59

    Favorite Things: Dr…. http://t.co/CvdrjvC1XT #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 01, 2014 @ 13:44:46

    Favorite Things: Dr…. http://t.co/Bn9q0lKZYQ #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

