Fit Tip Tuesday #1: Four Hydration Facts

We’re gonna be starting a new event here. On Tuesdays, I will be sharing a fit tip with you that I hope will improve your practice and overall quality of life. I’ll be linking up with other bloggers who are also posting their own fit tips on Tuesdays so you have the chance to learn as much as you want and meet some new people.

Talking about hydration on a Bikram yoga blog might seem like a no-brainer. You all know how important it is. You all know that you cannot succeed in class without it. But I thought this would be a good time to provide some reminders about the importance of hydrating and what it does.

1. Water helps keep you looking good. Staying hydrated keeps your skin moisturized. It can also reduce the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles.

2. How much water to drink? For those of us practicing Bikram, I follow the rule of 8 ounces a day plus half my body weight. So that’s 64 ounces plus 70 (This is when I actually round my weight up to 140 in the interest that more water will be better). 64+70=134 ounces. I try to hit somewhere between 120-140 ounces in a day. Yes, it can be done. Start as soon as you get up!water

3.  Always be fully hydrated BEFORE a class. The water you drink right this minute takes time to be absorbed by the body. How long it takes may depend on the individual. It can likely take a good one-two hours for your body to completely absorb the water. Water you drink in class will be helpful for when class is over, but not during (ok – we know it can help mentally during class but that’s probably about it!).

4. Did you know that you don’t have to hydrate by just drinking only water? Tomatoes are full of water and so are cucumbers! And, so I heard, is ice cream. 🙂

 

 

Fit Tip Tuesday Button
10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Courtney@TriGirl Chronicles
    Mar 11, 2014 @ 10:35:00

    I’ve never heard of the rule from number 2, very interesting! I usually aim for half my body weight, but I’m pretty bad about drinking enough water. It’s ll that pesky coffee that gets in the way.

    Reply

    • lahall99
      Mar 11, 2014 @ 14:54:00

      Number 2 is what I’ve always been told, and while I can’t claim it as a true fact (maybe just more of a guideline), I have found it to be a very good rule of thumb. I am not a coffee drinker, but it may not be as bad as you think in terms of hydration.

      Reply

  2. Skinny Opinion
    Mar 11, 2014 @ 13:39:00

    LOVE my H2O!! I drink a lot and whenever I’m lacking, my body definitely lets me know! Just don’t feel quite right. I didn’t know about #4 – very cool!

    Reply

  3. Georgia Reed
    Mar 13, 2014 @ 11:36:00

    Icecream? Nice! I need to be hydrated an maybe this gave me the push I need!

    Reply

    • lahall99
      Mar 13, 2014 @ 18:07:00

      I know – nice about ice cream, right? I always thought of hydration being about water intake, but there are foods that can help as well. I found that interesting!

      Reply

  4. Georgia Reed
    Mar 13, 2014 @ 11:37:00

    ( you should share tips on HOW you stay hydrated.. I know I should but in reality… well… 🙂

    Reply

  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 14, 2014 @ 02:20:06

    Fit Tip Tuesday #1: Four… http://t.co/M53eN9Dmxj #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  6. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Dec 01, 2014 @ 17:45:33

    Fit Tip Tuesday #1: Four… http://t.co/M53eN9UXFn #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

