Timeless, Beautiful Yogis

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Timeless, beautiful yogis. That’s what we are! And if you don’t already have a yoga practice, joining the timeless, beautiful yogis group might be enough motivation.

Ok – I cannot say for 100% sure that my practice has had a positive effect on the aging process, but some recent events have caused me to start to think about it. Consider the following:

(a) I get carded for alcohol a lot. The last two times I went to buy a bottle of wine (at different locations), I actually challenged the clerk.  I mean, I happily gave her my ID, but here’s one of the exchanges:

Me: Really? You need my ID? How old do you think I am [the answer is 40]

Her: I don’t know. But I know you are younger than me, and I’m 32.

Then, another time, I was out buying wine AND chocolate. Again I got carded. The clerk, upon learning my age said, “I don’t know what you do, but you look terrific!” To which I said, “I eat chocolate and drink wine.”

timeless

Maybe time moves slower for us or even backwards!

(b) Exhibit B is by far one of my favorites. In a period of one week I had three different people think I was a college student. The first time was at another university in a different state where I was giving a talk. The second and third times was at my own university in my own building! One of the people was a student in a class I was teaching that evening. When I said hi to her in the hall earlier that day, she did a double take because she thought I was a student. The second was someone I work with who also did the same thing.

These are just my most recent examples, but they happen on such a regular basis I pretty much just take it as a normal part of life now. Everyone always asks what I do that makes me look younger than I am. It could be any number of things….genes, diet, etc…But I do think the yoga plays a huge role in it.

A little bit of research suggests I am not crazy in my thinking.

What about you? Do you think your practice has had a positive influence on the aging process?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Georgia Reed
    Mar 13, 2014 @ 11:35:00

    Clearly it’s working for you! What a testimony! 🙂 Glad to have found your site. Georgia

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 12, 2015 @ 16:47:58

    Timeless, Beautiful Yogis http://t.co/GC9nOY381L #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

