Level 5 Yoga Brain

I don’t know about y’all, but I always have a massive case of the yoga brain during and after each class. From what I can tell, yoga brain works on a continuum in terms of having more or less of it on any given day. But what seems to be consistent is that I forget almost everything that happens in every class.

 

Honestly, you would not believe the awesome ideas I come up for blog posts during class. They are some good stuff that the yoga just sucks right back out of my brain never to be remembered again.

Recently, I was in class doing a round of standing bow. The instructor came over and gave me some feedback. I tried to incorporate the feedback, and I promptly fell out of standing bow.

Now, what was this feedback? Good question. I skipped on out of class and went about my life for the rest of the day. About 9:00 that night (I had taken the 9:00am class that day), I realized that she had given me a good piece of feedback, and I had absolutely no idea what she had said. I only knew the feedback had been given.

See – this is what I mean by yoga brain working on a continuum. I was probably functioning at a Level 5 Yoga Brain that day meaning I was aware that something had happened, I could kinda tell you what, but all the specifics had been lost.

Luckily, the instructor remembered when I asked her the next day. Her advice had been to pull my shoulder back more (on my arm that was grabbing my ankle). My shoulder was back pretty good, but you could still see it in the mirror. I’ve been working on doing this on both sides. It makes standing bow much more challenging! When I tried it the next class I found myself out of breath just after the first set on the first side. It brought a whole new Bow in a Cavelevel of awareness to my practice and that posture.

Have you experienced the yoga brain? What does it do to you?

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bill Affourtit (@waffourt)
    Jul 24, 2014 @ 10:14:31

    Level 5 Yoga Brain :: My Bikram Yoga Life http://t.co/VV02uLpwFq

    Reply

  2. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Sep 07, 2014 @ 01:47:45

    Level 5 Yoga Brain http://t.co/6jP3i6NNQP #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  3. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 25, 2015 @ 18:41:14

    Level 5 Yoga Brain http://t.co/OCJDSMSxAA #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

