Fit Tip #2: Eat More Kale

I need to practice what I’m about to preach here when I say that we probably all need to be eating more kale. I was reminded about the importance of kale recently when I read a post about the 5-Day Kale Challenge. Now, I’m not doing this challenge but it did get me thinking about howย I need more kale in my diet.

Why Eat More Kale?

Kale just might be the healthiest vegetable you can eat. In one cup of kale, you will get all the vitamin A, C , and K you need for a day. It is also an excellent source of iron, manganese, and potassium.ย  Given all the sweating we do in class, I am always looking for anything that will give me more potassium. Kale is also high in fiber, can help lower cholesterol, and promotes a healthy liver. In the end, kale is about as nutrition dense of a veggie that we’re gonna get.

meet kale

How to Eat Kale

I will be the first to admit that I am not a veggie lover. Eating them does not come easy to me. And kale, on its surface, is not exactly pleasing looking to eat. It looks like a decoration – a look but don’t put in your mouth kind of thing. But I have learned that you can play around with kale and make it taste good (or not even notice you are eating it at all!)

My favorite approach to getting more kale in my diet is through juicing. Give me a couple of cucumbers, kale, a lemon, and an apple and I’m good to go. But if you’re new to juicing, green juice may not be the best way to go (it wasn’t for me. I had to work into it). In that case, here are some great ideas for how to work more kale into your diet:

1. Pan-Fried Kale: Make it to your taste. It literally takes 2-5 minutes depending on how cooked you want it. Easy side dish.

2. 30 ways to use kale: These recipes use kale to varying degrees. If you haven’t got much of a taste for kale, you can probably find something here that will work.

3. Make a kale smoothie

4. Work it into your rice.

 

Click on the button to get more fit tips!

Fit Tip Tuesday Button
10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. GiGi Eats Celebrities
    Mar 18, 2014 @ 09:39:00

    LOVE KALE! I actually made a video about kale way back when because it’s one of those veggies so many people fear, yet they really shouldn’t! Thanks for linking up to some recipes – if you have other healthy, spring recipes, feel free to link them up over at my blog! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

    • lahall99
      Mar 18, 2014 @ 12:09:00

      Will do Gigi! I used to fear kale too. It seemed so bland, but now I realize you can do so much with it.

      Reply

  2. Cassie Vaughn
    Mar 18, 2014 @ 11:56:00

    I need to eat more kale, too. I just wish it was a tad less expensive.

    Reply

    • lahall99
      Mar 18, 2014 @ 12:08:00

      My local grocer had it for about .99 a pound. Then again, a pound of kale isn’t really all that much when you get around to eating it! So yeah – it would probably be easy to spend 10.00 a week or more on kale if I went all out. Hadn’t thought about that.

      Reply

  3. Melissa @ nourishbymelissa.com
    Mar 18, 2014 @ 12:01:00

    I am in love with your blog. I came across it thanks to TSOH’s Fit Tip Tuesday link up and I’m so glad I did! Oh and love this post, kale is a definite staple in my diet ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  4. Skinny Opinion
    Mar 18, 2014 @ 16:22:00

    I am ALL about kale in my smoothies! I try to add some into my salads at lunch too, but I’m not crazy about an all kale salad so I try to mix it up. It is SO nutritious!! Love your blog btw ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

    • lahall99
      Mar 19, 2014 @ 09:15:00

      An all kale salad could be a bit uninspiring. Although there is a greek place next to my yoga studio that does a pretty good one! I think the secret must be in the dressing they use. Glad you like the blog. Thanks. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

  5. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Oct 08, 2014 @ 08:36:37

    Fit Tip #2: Eat More Kale http://t.co/Oq4gKWm54Z #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

  6. LeighAHall (@LeighAHall)
    Jan 15, 2015 @ 21:19:01

    Fit Tip #2: Eat More Kale http://t.co/Oq4gKXcStb #bikramyoga #yogaholicsmag

    Reply

Leave a Reply

